Scholarship
This is the "Home" page of the "Internationalization at the University Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Internationalization at the University Libraries  

Last Updated: Oct 26, 2011 URL: http://guides.library.appstate.edu/internationalization Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Library Guides

World History
by Betsy Williams - Last Updated Nov 15, 2011
A guide to scholarly research on the history of the world.
Study Abroad
by Beth Cramer, Amauri Serrano - Last Updated Apr 13, 2012
Library resources for students studying abroad. Includes travel, language, and cultural information, as well as research help for students studying abroad.
International Students
by Amauri Serrano, Beth Cramer - Last Updated Aug 17, 2011
Useful information for international students attending Appalachian State University. Contains selected resources to aid international students with course work, to pursue creative and intellectual interests, and to navigate their new surroundings.
GlobalDevelopment
by Leslie Farison - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
Country Information
by John Boyd - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Foreign Languages, Learning and Resources
by Beth Cramer, Amauri Serrano - Last Updated Apr 13, 2012
For those learning a new language or needing help with translation and grammar. Also lists resources for media, film, music, and literature in all languages.
International Faculty
by Beth Cramer, Amauri Serrano - Last Updated Aug 19, 2011
Useful information for international faculty at Appalachian State University. Contains selected resources to aid international faculty make the most of library resources in teaching and research, and to navigate their new surroundings at Appalachian.
Latin American Studies
by Allan Scherlen, Amauri Serrano - Last Updated Oct 10, 2011
Sub-Saharan Africa
by Beth Cramer, John Boyd - Last Updated Jan 20, 2012
 

QEP (Quality Enhancement Plan)

As a member institution of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC), Appalachian State University is required to submit a Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) as part of the materials necessary for reaffirmation of accreditation. The campus community has chosen “Global Learning: A World of Opportunities for Appalachian Students” as our QEP topic.

 

Strategic Plan

The Library’s dedication to international efforts was solidified in The Appalachian State University Library 2008-2013 Strategic Plan. Under Strategic Direction III: Engagement, the plan included the objective to “Provide students, faculty, and staff with opportunities to learn other cultures, peoples, and systems.” In order to fulfill this objective, the Library is committed to three activities as quoted from the Strategic Plan:

Activity 1. Evaluate our collections to address diversity and coverage of international issues. Develop library collections appropriately, in multiple formats and languages as well as materials.

Activity 2. Inventory our current contribution to a 
diverse campus climate and organize cultural events, displays, and activities in collaboration with other campus units.

Activity 3. Investigate 
international exchanges of personnel, resources, and information with other libraries, particularly with Appalachian's partnership institutions.

 

Highlights

The Library's Instructional Materials Center (IMC) is a regionally recognized collection focused on resources for preK-12 students and teachers and is strongly internationalized. Librarians prepare online bibliographies of resources for studying cultures around the world (e.g. Africa, Latin America, Asia, the Jewish diaspora, and the Middle East) and have created a representative list of bilingual stories for children

The Appalachian Collection serves as a window on the world for other global mountain areas.  For instance the Collection supports faculty research doing comparative work on Wales.The Library serves as the world's library of record for Appalachian materials, ensuring that we have one-of-a-kind holdings regarding African, Native American, and Melungeon peoples of Appalachia.

The Library’s collection reflects the international interests of faculty and students with over 4% of books acquired since 2000 in languages other than English, many international and foreign journals available, and electronic resources, such as index and news databases, cover international range of journals and subjects, with plans to add more. (For more detail on our Library Collections and how they support campus international efforts, see the Appalachian State University Library Internationalization Review)

Belk Library and Information Commons

218 College Street • PO Box 32026 • Boone, NC 28608

Phone: 828.262.2186

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip