Skip to main content

Managing Citations -- Zotero and EndNote: EndNote

Getting Started

EndNote X7 installed on your PC or Mac

On university computers, you might already have EndNote installed.  If not, open "Software Center" on the desktop.  Look for "Endnote X7 -- Install" or "Thomson Reuters Endnote X7 - Install."  On Macs, EndNote is included under Applications.

For personal computers, visit Campus IT's link.  You will be able to log in and get instructions to download the Library's EndNote.

You may still check out a disc at the library (desk to the right as you come in).   Discs for installing EndNote X7 for both Windows and Apple Mac are available.  Ask for help if you do not have a disc drive.  It can also be installed from a USB drive. 

Distance Education students may request that a USB drive or CD be mailed to them by contacting Greg Beavers (beaversgs@appstate.edu or 828-262-2781).  But it's probably a lot easier just to download through IT's website.

Also an option -- Set up account in EndNote Online

You do not have to set up EndNote Online.

But when you're ready for a cloud-based interface, set up an account at https://www.myendnoteweb.com/

In EndNote X7, in Edit >> Preferences, look for Sync and activate.

Setting Up Preferences

Click on Edit and Preferences (at the bottom).  Most of the deafults are OK.  Except:

Display Fields -- I like to have "Added to Library" displayed, so I can sort by date.

Find Full Text -- Add http://resolver.ebscohost.com/openurl   to OpenURL path.  And check OpenURL.

Add https://login.proxy006.nclive.org/login?url=http://resolver.ebscohost.com/openurl to Authenticate with URL:

PDF Handling -- Check Enable automatic importing.

Setting up Libraries and Groups

This is just for organization.  You might soon want to have a few Libraries for distinct projects, but you can start with just one Library.  Click on File >> New.

To set up Groups (like folders), click on Groups >> Create Group.

Later, as you collect citations, you use the Groups >> Add References To.

Your groups will then be available on the column to the left, under My Groups.

Back up -- Don't forget

This is also important for an easy way to share or transfer EndNote.

File >> Compressed Library (.enlx)

If you only use

File >> Save a Copy

and save the .enl file, you will need to save the .data file also.

So it's much simpler just to save it routinely as a compressed .enlx file.

Then save to secure storage: network, Dropbox, e-mail, flashdrive, or other.

Note:  EndNote warns against saving EndNote libraries to networks, USB drives, and cloud storage, such as Dropbox.  In other words, most of the ways you might back up and share EndNote.  Saving EndNote libraries as compressed .enlx files should mitigate the risk, but see pages 76- in EndNote's Little EndNote How-To Book for more details.

Mac Users -- Consider Using Firefox

For gathering citations while you're searching article databases (see following boxes), Endnote does best with Firefox.  There is a way to set up Chrome.

For documentation and updates, search http://endnote.com/support/search-knowledgebase on words: Chrome, Safari, Explorer, Opera

Gathering citations -- Library Databases

Every database and catalog will be a little different.  Look for “EndNote” of course, but also “RIS”  if you don’t see EndNote.

Ebsco databases (Academic Search Complete, PsycINFO, Environment Complete, and others)

There are 2 ways to do this:  One, collect multiple citations using "Add to folder" 

and then use "Go to: Folder View."

 

The other way is to collect the citations one by one.  Click on the blue article title to get the article record.

Whether you are in Folder View or looking at the individual article page, look for the Export icon in the column to the far right.

Now you should get the Export Manager.  It defaults to the EndNote/RIS choice, so just click "Save."

You may be asked to select a program.  The default program will probably work, but you can also select EndNote.

You should see the information pop up in your EndNote window.  (Capture the PDF full text at this time, if it's available.  More on that later.)

Science Direct

        Web of Science

Academic OneFile

JSTOR

Gathering citations -- Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Use the Google Scholar search box on the Library webpage.

When you get your Google Scholar results, click on the gear icon in the top right.  Then "Scholar Settings."

Then click on "Show links to import citations into" and select EndNote.

Be sure to Save.  Then you'll see this for each result.

Gathering citations -- Library Catalogs

APPsearch is not yet set up to help with citations, but there is always a link to the Classic Catalog for this purpose.

In our Library Catalog, look for "Add Marked to Bag" or "Add to Bag." 

and then

Check the items you would like to send to EndNote and click on

Make sure item is still checked and select "End-Note /" and "Local Disk."  Submit.

UNC LIbrary Express / WorldCat

Look for the

and when a box pops up, select

Attaching PDFs and adding URLs

On the bottom right panel of EndNote, you can attach (previously saved) PDFs using the paper clip icon. 

You can also edit the bibliographic information, such as the URL.

Go to the EndNote window and highlight an article you've collected.  Then try the "Find Full Text" button above it.  This feature will not work off campus for now.

If it works, the full text PDF should show up in the panel on the lower left.

You can also attach a PDF that you've downloaded in the lower left panel.  Click on the "PDF & Quick Edit" tab and then on the paper clip icon.

        

Find the file on your computer and attach it.

The panel on the lower right allows you to add or correct information: an abstract or notes, If you have full text of an article, copy the URL (web address) into the URL field near the bottom.

Creating bibliographies and Cite While You Write

One way to create a bibliography is to highlight the items in the EndNote window.  Use <Ctrl> button to highlight as many as needed.

In Microsoft Word, you should have this EndNote add-in.

Click on "Insert Citation" and then "Insert Selected Citation(s)."  The citations should appear in Word.

This document is now set up to use Chicage 16th, but this can be changed easily on the panel.

As you write, you can add in-text citations with accompanying full citations.

Online Search

EndNote has a well-hidden file that allows you to use EndNote's Online Search.  Online search is nice, except for one thing.  It will not give you immediate access to full text.  This is how you find the file and set up the function:

Go this EndNote Support webpage, http://endnote.com/downloads/connections?title_op=contains&title=appalachian

You can see that a search for Appalachian does not give you Appalachian State.  But click on

 

You'll get a zip file.  Open it up and scroll down to Appalachian State's .enz file.

Click on it and you'll be taken to an EndNote Connection File panel.  Click on "File," in upper left, and choose "Save as."  Remove the word "copy" and save.

Click on "File" again and choose "Close Connection."

 

Then, back to EndNote.  Edit >> Connection Files >> Open Connection Manager. 

Find Appalachian State and check its box.

 

Then, your EndNote should have something like this on the left panel:

 

Click on Appalachian State and search.  Also, go back through this process to add more of your favorite databases.

Zotero, EndNote, or Mendeley Workshops

Want to get started with Zotero or EndNote?  Ask us about one-to-one and small group consultations, if these times do not work out.  (wiswellj@ , abbottLT@ , or RAP request.)

EndNote workshops - TBA - Contact John Wiswell, wiswellj@appstate.edu

Zotero workshops - Contact Lisa Abbott, abbottLT@appstate.edu

Thursday, Feb. 16, 2017, 12:00-1:15pm.  Belk Library 026.  Register here.

Monday, Feb. 20, 2017, 5:00-6:15pm.  Online using Zoom.  Register here.

Tuesday, March 7, 5:00-6:15pm.  Belk Library 026.  Register here.

Contact -- John Wiswell

John Wiswell   wiswellj@appstate.edu
Belk Library 225   262-7853
Available for consultations with students -- Email me.

EndNote Support and Tutorial Videos

UNC Chapel Hill's Guide

Also See these Library Guides

These guides are clear, up to date (for now, Jan.2015), and comprehensive.

Distance Education Services

Distance Education students have access to the full array of Belk Library and Information Commons resources and services. 

Click here to learn more. Distance Learning Services