Research Guides: Chemistry and Fermentation Sciences: Overview

What's in this Guide -- Getting started in researching Chemistry topics

Articles & Databases

Special Topics

Journals

Chemistry Education

Books & eBooks

Chemistry and Science News

Citing Sources

Biological Chemistry

KEY CHEMISTRY RESOURCES: Background Information

CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
We no longer have any limit on number of simultaneous users.
But we do not have access to the other components of ChemNetBase.
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology
Online version of the Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology, with new and revised articles posted monthly. Kirk-Othmer online brings together and treats systematically facts on the properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemicals and materials, processes, and engineering principles, coupled with insights into current research, emerging technologies and economic aspects. Environmental and health concerns are also addressed.
Hawley's condensed chemical dictionary
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary, 15th Edition is a compilation of technical data and descriptive information covering thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena, trade name products, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology.
Berkeley Safety Data Sheets (was MSDS)
University of Vermont SIRI MSDS Collection

KEY DATABASES FOR CHEMISTRY

October 2016 -- SciFinder may be blocked until you tell your browser to allow pop-ups for scifinder.cas.org.

SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
You must register. Create an account with your @appstate.edu address. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
Covers all areas of chemistry, including organic, inorganic, biochemistry, applied chemistry, and chemical engineering, including abstracts from more than 10,000 journals and the CAS Registry.

KEY CHEMISTRY RESOURCES: Spectral Data

The Aldrich library of infrared spectra
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Spectra for organic compounds (and some small inorganic compounds). Includes IR and mass spectral data.
SDBS: Spectral Database for Organic Compounds
Includes 6 different types of spectra for 32,000 organic compounds.

KEY CHEMISTRY RESOURCES: Syntheses

Inorganic Synthesis
Initiated at the Chicago meeting of the American Chemical Society, Sept. 1933.
Fieser and Fieser's reagents for organic synthesis (Online)
This online version of the Fieser & Fieser series expands upon an essential reference for all practicing organic chemists. The updated, straightforward electronic form will make an already user-friendly reference even more simple to navigate. The indispensable information provided by previous volumes of Reagents for Organic Synthesis will now be located in one place and available via the internet.
Encyclopedia of reagents for organic synthesis
This essential reference contains an authoritative and systematic description of the use of all reagents in organic chemistry. It includes approximately 3500 alphabetically arranged articles, a comparison of reagents with others capable of similar chemistry, a pro and con assessment for each reagent, extensive cross-referencing and substantial subject and molecular formula indexes.

CONNECTIONS

A. R. Smith Department of Chemistry
ASU Forensic Science Club
Libby Puckett, Advisor, 262-2754,
puckettlg@appstate.edu
U.S. Chemistry & Biochemistry Departments
North Carolina Biotechnology Center
Academic Chemistry and Biochemistry Departments Outside the U.S.

A.R. Smith Department of Chemistry

The Department of Chemistry endeavors to be a nationally-recognized model for educating and graduating students prepared to compete in and contribute to the ever-changing, technology-centered world of the 21^st century. To achieve this vision the department is committed to providing a course of study for undergraduates in the chemical sciences which combines curriculum, scholarship and service/engagement opportunities that are high-quality, innovative and intellectually challenging and employ state-of-the-art technologies.

The mission of the Appalachian State University A. R. Smith Department of Chemistry is to advance the chemical sciences through the education of undergraduate students by providing them with quality classroom, research and service opportunities. With a high standard for excellence in all three areas the department will produce students who are knowledgeable in chemistry and can think critically.

University Libraries Research Guides

Chemistry and Fermentation Sciences: Overview

Science Librarian