Skip to main content

Central Pennsylvania Racing Association: Overview

How to Find Library Resources about Stock Car Racing

 

The Appalachian State University Library Stock Car Racing Collection is one of the most comprehensive repositories of material on the sport available to the public. This Guide is intended to help you begin your research. Also take a look at the Stock Car Racing Collection web page or contact the Curator of the Stock Car Racing Collection (see the box to the right) for further assistance.

Books and More

The Library catalog provides access to materials available locally as well as throughout the country, and is a good starting point for research. The Library catalog also has a list of indexes and databases by subject that will help you identify sources beyond this guide to investigate for articles, statistics, and more.

Search Appsearch to find books, recommended web sites, films, government publications, and other sources of information on your topic, as well as articles from a pre-selected group of databases. You can refine your search by limiting the results. For instance, you can limit to recent publications or to web sites only. Use the options along each side of the list.

Use the Books & Media search to eliminate the magazine/journal articles and retrieve only books, movies, etc., in the Library's collection.

WorldCat

WorldCat lists the holdings of libraries around the world. You can limit the result by year, format, or other factors to tighten up your search.

You can find books, dvds, music, and more on your topic by using library catalogs.

Magazine, Newspaper, and Journal Articles

Articles published in racing magazines and newspapers are not usually indexed in periodical indexes. The Stock Car Racing Collection maintains a clippings file of material on more than 1500 subjects. Click HERE to see the list of topics in the clippings file. You can also browse through the issues of racing periodicals in the Stock Car Racing Collection.

Find articles on racing that appear in general periodicals, such as Newsweek, the Wall Street Journal, and Fortune, by looking for your topic in the databases listed below. You can search several general databases at once by going to the Library catalog and selecting the Articles option.

Recommended databases are listed on these Library Guides:

Appalachia News Sources

General Databases

Business

News

 

 

Central Pennsylvania Racing Association

In 1904 auto racing and motorsports historian Don Radbruch donated a small collection of items relating to the Central Pennsylvania Racing Association. The records were kept by J. Earl Way; Don got them from J. Earl's son, Jim Way.

The material, listed below, is housed in the closed collection of Special Collections, on the fourth floor of Belk Library & Information Commons, Appalachian State University, Boone, NC 28608-2026. Researchers may use them upon request. Ask for for them by collection name (Central Pennsylvania Racing Association), box number, and location (B4).

Scoring and Payoff Sheets. June 16, 1935, August 30, 1935, September 12, 1935. Box 1. Folder 1.

Point Standings. August 9, 1935. Box 1. Folder 2.

 

 

Librarian

Suzanne Wise's picture
Suzanne Wise
Contact:
Belk Library and Information Commons
Appalachian State University
Boone, NC 28608-2026
tel: 828-262-2798

Curator of the Stock Car Racing Collection; Bibliographer for the departments of Communication, Computer Science, and Sustainable Technology and the Built Environment