The Chronicle of Higher Education is the primary source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; articles published since September 1989; discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
LexisNexis Academic covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-K's, 10-Q's, and their exhibits.
Subjects covered in Academic include: top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; foreign language news; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; federal case law; U.S. Code; and state legal research.
Newspaper Source Plus provides coverage of national and international news from U.S. and international newspapers, and television and radio news transcripts.
Newspaper Source Plus provides full text coverage for 730 national & international newspapers, including The New York Times, The Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), The Australian, The Toronto Star, The Irish Times and others. Full text coverage is also available for 16 North Carolina newspapers. Also included are television and radio news transcripts from ABC News, CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, and National Public Radio.
Covers the New York Times late edition (East Coast). Access is through the LexisNexis service.
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.
ProQuest Newsstand offers access to the full text of over 1,300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from throughout the world.
The database includes backfile for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in each paper. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles.
WestlawNext offers access to statutes, cases and regulations of all fifty states as well as all federal jurisdictions.
In addition, the database includes Keycite (for ensuring your cases have received only positive subsequent treatment) for all jurisdictions, as well as selected secondary sources for most states. Also includes access to secondary sources, such as American Jurisprudence, 2d, American Law Reports, and law reviews. Most significantly, WestlawNext offers broad access to North Carolina legal materials. Documents can also be accessed through broad subject categories such as Civil Rights, International Law and Environmental Law.
The Appalachian Collection owns an extensive number of early and current regional newspapers on microfilm and paper. Holdings emphasize North Carolina. Newspapers provide invaluable announcements of birth, weddings, and deaths as well as summaries of local events, which may have affected ancestors' lives. Indexes are NOT available.