Skip to Main Content

University Libraries Research Guides

Woodwind Instruments Handy Guide: Basic Reference Tools

Your quick guide to woodwind instrument music resources (Bassoon, Clarinet, Flute, Oboe, Saxophone).

General Woodwind Reference

The following titles will be useful in finding general information about woodwind instruments. 

  • Clark, David Lindsey. Appraisals of Original Wind Music: A Survey and Guide.  Ref ML 128 .W5 C6 1999
  • Gillespie, James E. The Reed Trio: An Annotated Bibliography of Original Published Works.  Ref ML 128 .W5 G54
  • Horne, Aaron. Woodwind Music of Black Composers.  Ref ML 128 .W5 H65 1990
  • Merriman, Lyle. Woodwind Research Guide: A Selective Bibliography of Materials Pertaining to the Literature, Development, and Acoustics of Woodwind Instruments. Ref ML 128 .W5 M5
  • Peters, Harry B. The Literature of the Woodwind Quintet. Ref ML 128 .W5 P5
  • Skei, Allen B. Woodwind, Brass, and Percussion Instruments of the Orchestra: A Bibliographic Guide. Ref ML 128 .W5 S6 1985

Instrument Specific Reference

The following titles will be useful in tracking down information about the bassoon and its literature. 

  • Beebe, Jon P. Music for Unaccompanied Solo Bassoon: An Annotated Bibliography. Ref ML 128 .B26 B43 1990 (Also available digitally)
  • Bulling, Burchard. Fagott Bibliographie. Ref ML 128 .B84 1989
  • Langwill, Lyndesay Graham. The Bassoon and Contrabassoon. Ref ML 950 .L29
  • Lipori, Daniel G. A Research and Information Guide on the Bassoon. Ref ML 128 .B26 L56 2019 (2 vol.)
  • Waterhouse, William. The Bassoon. Ref ML 950 .W38 2003
  • Wilkins, Wayne. The Index of Bassoon Music Including the Index of Baroque Trio Sonatas. Ref ML 128 .B25 W5

The following titles will be useful in tracking down information about the clarinet and its literature. 

  • Gee, Harry R. Clarinet Solos de Concours, 1897-1980: An Annotated Bibliography. Ref ML 128 .C58 G43
  • Gillespie, James E. Solos for Unaccompanied Clarinet: An Annotated Bibliography of Published Works. Ref ML 128 .C58 G54
  • Heim, Norman M. Clarinet Literature in Outline. Ref ML 128 .C58 H5 2006
  • Heim, Norman M. The Clarinet Sonata in Outline. Ref ML 128 .C58 H5 2005
  • Heim, Norman M. The Clarinet Concerto in Outline. Ref ML 128 .C58 H5 2007
  • Opperman, Kalmen. Repertory of the Clarinet. Ref ML 128 .C58 O66

The following titles will be useful in tracking down information about the flute and its literature.  

  • Boenke, Heidi M. Flute Music by Women Composers: An Annotated Catalog. Ref ML 128 .F7 B6 1988
  • Neuhaus, Margaret N., and Ardal Powell. The Baroque Flute Fingering Book: A Comprehensive Guide to Fingerings for the One-Keyed Flute Including Trills, Flattements, and Battements: Based on Original Sources from the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries. MT 340 .N48 2002
  • Pellerite, James J. A Handbook of Literature for the Flute: Compilation of Graded Method Materials, Solos, and Ensemble Music for Flutes. Ref ML 128 .F7 P4 1978
  • Vester, Frans. Flute Repertoire Catalogue: 10,000 Titles. Ref ML 128 .F7 V48

The following titles will be useful in tracking down information about the oboe and its literature. 

  • Gifford, Virginia Snodgrass. Music for Oboe, Oboe d’amore, and English Horn: A Bibliography of Materials at the Library of Congress. Ref ML 128 .O2 G5 1983
  • Stanton, Robert E. The Oboe Player’s Encyclopedia: Solo Listings, Record Listings, Double-Reed Supply Listing, Oboe/English Horn Repairmen, Tool Makers & Suppliers. Ref ML 128 .O2 S74 1974

The following titles will be useful in tracking down information about the saxophone and its literature.

  • Gee, Harry R. Saxophone Soloists and Their Music, 1844-1985: An Annotated Bibliography. Ref ML 128 .S247 G4 1986
  • Londeix, Jean-Marie, and Bruce Ronkin. 150 Years of Music for Saxophone: Bibliographical Index of Music and Educational Literature for the Saxophone, 1844-1994. NEEDS CALL NO. 
  • Schleuter, Stanley L. Saxophone Recital Music: A Discography. Ref ML 156.4 .S3 S34 1993

Librarian