Skip to main content

Public Health: Overview

Fall 2020!

Need help? I'm available: email wiswellj@, Zoom, chat, appointment, (with 6 ft. spacing) at Levine 542F or Library, wherever.   Zoom by appointment.  Email if these times don't work.

eReference Sources for Health Promotion

Other Library Guides

Also see our guides for Exercise Science, for Athletic Training, for Nutrition,and for Health.

Some of our journals for Health Promotion and Public Health

Location of Books

We have many ebooks for Health Promotion topics also.

  • R for Health Sciences
  • RA for Public Health
  • RA 427.8 for Health Promotion

Nearly all items with call numbers starting with R will be located on the third floor of the Belk Library.

Types of Plagiarism

Databases, for Finding Journal Articles

APPsearch, on our main page, is useful for many searches.  It will search most of the databases listed below.

For most important health problems, there should be a recent systematic review of all studies.  Try including the phrase "systematic review" or just "review" in your search.

Evidence-Based Resources

Getting Full Text!

Our Find@ASU button in our article databases takes you to electronic full text, if we have it. 

Find@ASU button that tries to take you to full text

Still not getting full text?  Many full text articles are available for free in some form.  If you have a distinct article title or a DOI, try a quick search in Google Scholar (and Google).  We also have ILLiad to get articles from other libraries.  NEW -- Try Unpaywall.

Nuances in choosing words -- PICO

PICO

Helps with creating an answerable, useful question.  Helps with choice of search words.

Problem or population  -- soccer players

Intervention -- preventive training (or more specific type of preventive training)

Comparison treatment (or placebo) -- alternate type of preventive training?  what's being used up to now.

Outcome -- count frequency and severity of injuries.  Missed games or training.

APA Formatting and Style

Living with APA

APA Style

The Library has multiple copies of the Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (6th edition).  We've started adding copies of APA 7th also.

Contact -- John Wiswell

John Wiswell  
Health Sciences Librarian
wiswellj@appstate.edu       
Levine Hall 542F & Belk Library 225  (828)262-7853
Available for students, faculty, and staff. 

Interlibrary Loan change -- summer 2019

You're using ILLiad, interlibrary loan, right?  ILLIad will get you articles from other libraries, in cases when AppState does not subscribe and there is no free (post-peer reviewed) version available.

Your ILLiad password is now your AppState password, the same one you use for AppalNet, AsULearn, and other library access.

Looking for books on public health? And other writing for public health

Most of our books (physical books!) on public health are on the third floor, in the RA sections.  See for example, these Catalog search results for recent public health books.  (This smaller set of ebooks looks interesting also!)

I'm also pleased to see the latest issue of the American Journal of Public Health has a focus on public health response to emergencies.  It includes an article by Erin Bouldin and Jennifer Schroeder, a local public health practitioner.  Everything in this issue appears to be open access.

Faculty -- Preparing Annual Reports

If you need to make arguments about journal quality, look at at Eigenfactor, Scimago, and Google Scholar -- Top PublicationsWe no longer subscribe to the Journal Citation Reports (Incites).

Of course, be skeptical of all ranking systems. 

You might also refer to Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities (covers some disciplines: Nursing, Health Administration) and UlrichsWeb for information that might be useful.  For open access journals, check if they are listed in the Directory of Open Access Journals.  (You might also search WorldCat to see how many libraries say they have a journal.)

Contact me if you would like to discuss this or need help using the resources.  We have a library guide about Scholarly Communication, including topics such as measuring impact.  For looking at your own impact, we have Web of Science, and Google Scholar is good.  I've also been using Dimensions.