Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nutrition: Overview

NUT 4200 assignment -- July 2021

One detail -- 5 peer-reviewed articles, and at least three of the papers must be the original studies, not review papers

See box below titled, "Recognizing original research articles."

Also, (video) how to filter for original articles in ScienceDirect, Web of Science, and PubMed.  You cannot really filter with a button in APPsearch or Google Scholar.  But you should be beginning to recognize the original versus review anyway. (Note: I claim in this video that I eliminated everything but original studies from my PubMed results, but that's not true.  I filtered out only reviews, including systematic reviews and meta-analyses.  There would still be editorials and a small variety of other things.)

Quick links to databases, and getting help

Need help? I'm available: email wiswellj@, Zoom, chat, appointment.  Make appointment (for now, be very clear if you want in person appointment) Email if these times don't work.

I'm back at Belk Library mornings and at Levine afternoons, a few hours each place.  Ask for me or make an appointment.

Additional pages in this guide

Getting Full Text!

Our Find@ASU button in our article databases takes you to electronic full text, if we have it. 

Find@ASU button that tries to take you to full text

Still not getting full text?  Many full text articles are available for free in some form.  If you have a distinct article title or a DOI, try a quick search in Google Scholar (and Google).  We also have ILLiad to get articles from other libraries. 

Best databases for Nutrition research

More useful databases

Evidence-Based Practice Databases

Contact -- John Wiswell

John Wiswell  
Health Sciences Librarian
wiswellj@appstate.edu       
Click here for an appointment.  Contact me by email if these times do not work.
Levine Hall 542F & Belk Library 225  (828)262-7853
Available for students, faculty, and staff. 

ADA's Nutrition Care Manuals

Recognizing original research articles

Most of the articles you'll find using PubMed, Google Scholar, ScienceDirect, and other search interfaces will be original or primary research.  Not all.  You might also see editorials, commentary, news.  You'll often see reviews, systematic reviews, and meta-analyses and maybe evidence summaries, guidelines, or position statements.  All these are not considered original or primary.

Look for the standard format: short introduction, methods, results, and conclusions.  If your article is in this format, it's not editorials, commentary, news.

Look for terms like these in the title: review, systematic review, meta-analysis, evidence summary, guideline, or position statement.  If you don't see those, it's almost certainly original research.  (Those types are secondary.)

One area of confusion is this.  Many original research articles use data collected systematically by governments and other entities.  Other original research articles are based on original data, data that's not collected or measured or described elsewhere.  But original research does not have to have to start with original data.

Note that in some journals like the Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, original research is labelled "Original Research."  (This journal has an unusually high proportion of articles that are not original, but they're pretty well labelled.)

Original research where researchers collect or create their own data

Frymark, E. E., Stickford, J. L., & Farris, A. R. (2020). A Nutritional and Environmental Analysis of Local Food Pantries Accessible to College Students in Rural North Carolina. Journal of Appalachian Health, 2(2), 24–35. http://muse.jhu.edu/article/761234    Link to full text
Original research where researchers use already collected data
Bouldin, E. D., Vandenberg, A., Roy, M., Hege, A., Zwetsloot, J. J., & Howard, J. S. (2020). Prevalence and domains of disability within and outside Appalachian North Carolina: 2013–2016 Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System. Disability and Health Journal, 13(2), 100879. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.dhjo.2019.100879   Link to full text
Not original research -- These researchers find and review original research done by others.
Thompson, K. L., Chung, M., Handu, D., Gutschall, M., Jewell, S. T., Byham-Gray, L., & Parrott, J. S. (2019). The Effectiveness of Nutrition Specialists on Pediatric Weight Management Outcomes in Multicomponent Pediatric Weight Management Interventions: A Systematic Review and Exploratory Meta-Analysis. Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, 119(5), 799-817.e43. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jand.2018.12.008   Link to full text
 

MedDRA