LibGuides: NUR 4033 or 4100 -- Nursing Research: Overview

No longer updating this webpage

No longer updating this guide. See the main Nursing guide, https://guides.library.appstate.edu/nursing .

February 2022 -- Well, I did update this a bit. It just won't die. Especially see CINAHL and PubMed links, and let me know if you have questions.

Spring 2024

Questions? Need help? wiswellj@appstate.edu. Email me, or we can meet in person, Levine or main campus, or in Zoom, if needed.

Essential Nursing and Health Databases

For finding articles.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
There are several ways that you can limit results to only nurse-researchers or to only Nursing journals.
Provides indexing to nearly 1,200 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals, as well as publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. It includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, and educational software. Abstracts are included for over 250 journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
If you dig under "additional filters" on the left column, you can limit to only Nursing journals.
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information from more than 5,200 journals in the life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It provides access to over 14 million citations and abstracts. The fields include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.

Coverage: 1950-present

PubMed Clinical Queries
No longer available, you can get the same results by adding systematic [sb] to a PubMed search.

More Databases for Nursing

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Psychology, mental health, organizational behavior
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles (over 2,500 journals), book chapters, books, and dissertations.

Covers psychology and related disciplines,with 97 percent of the material peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Coverage: 1887-present
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
I use Google Scholar and APPsearch (on library main page) a lot.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Authoritative reviews of primary studies. If there is a Cochrane review on topic, you will want to start with that. 100% full text.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare.

Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.

Part of the Cochrane Collection Plus database.

Need help?

See the Nursing guide.

Need extra help? Contact me, wiswellj@appstate.edu.

Are you using the New York University EBP tutorial? Here are some notes on it, regarding resources available to you.

Outcomes

We have lots of books and ebooks on Nursing research (ebooks only). This one looks good. It focuses on outcome measures.

Nursing outcomes : the state of the science by Diane M. Doran
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2011
Chapters:
--Patient outcomes as an accountability
--Functional status
--Self-care
--Symptom management
--Pain as a symptom outcome
--Adverse patient outcomes
--Psychological distress as a nurse-sensitive outcome
--Patient satisfaction as a nurse-sensitive outcome
--Mortality rate as a nurse-sensitive outcome
--Healthcare utilization

Contact -- John Wiswell

John Wiswell

Health Sciences Librarian

wiswellj@appstate.edu

Click here for an appointment. Contact me by email if these times do not work.

Levine Hall 542F & Belk Library 225 (828)262-7853

Available for students, faculty, and staff.

A few recent questions

Video -- Search words and full text
It's funny when I reflect on this topic. I should have also suggested searching on myocardial, but the search will pick up most cases where myocardial is used anyway.
Video - Use PubMed also

Having problems with accessing full text of articles?

Hey, I'm interested in examples when you cannot get full text that it appears we should have. My testing shows our linking is working pretty well (with a few exceptions February 2022), but it helps to get examples with details when things are not working. We also have a "Report a Problem" page that goes to my colleagues Allan, Kristen, and Kevin. Thanks, JohnW, wiswellj@appstate.edu

Does APPsearch include articles found in CINAHL and PubMed?

Use CINAHL and PubMed for most of your needs. I like APPsearch and Google Scholar too. But CINAHL is a Nursing-friendly world. And PubMed is what you will most easily have available throughout your career.

APPsearch does include CINAHL. A lot of the top results for the searches you do will be from CINAHL.

A more complex answer about MEDLINE

APPsearch kind of searches PubMed. It searches MEDLINE. MEDLINE is the main component of PubMed. There are about 24 million journal article records in Medline, and PubMed contains them all, plus about 3 million other records. Where I really notice the difference is for recently published articles. If an article is published today, it will be in PubMed tomorrow, but it might take a couple of months to get into MEDLINE and APPsearch.

Also, a lot of articles that show up in APPsearch are in two or more databases. Usually they only display once. So a result might show that it's from CINAHL, but it also is in MEDLINE or a range of other databases.

Library Guides

NUR 4033 or 4100 -- Nursing Research: Overview