Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ITC 2010: Narrative, New Media, and Gaming: Home

Welcome

belk library

Welcome to the ITC 2010 course guide. 
On this page are resource links and search strategies to assist you in completing your annotated bibliography assignment.

Online Resources

The following online resources are available to help you find more information on gaming:

OWL (Online Writing Lab) @ Purdue

The OWL resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style.

APPsearch

    

Advanced search

 

To get the full text of articles, try both the Find@Appstate link and the article title, or contact a librarian for assistance.

Finding Books, Encyclopdias, Articles, and More

Via APPsearch you can locate books, encyclopedias, news and articles.  Find below suggested search terms and strategies.

  • Search using the name of the game, myth, spirit, or legend.
    • "yokai watch"        Tip:  use  " "  to search this as a phrase
    • arsgang
       
  •  What are the key concepts?  Think of synonyms.  Search them in combination.
    • video, online, internet, gaming
    • spirit, myth, folklore, legend, fable, archetype, Japanese folklore, Chinese folklore
    • narrative, storytelling, role-playing
    • culture, global
       
  •   Basic Search strategy example.

Appsearch box
 

  •   Advanced Search strategy example.   Tip:  use   OR   between synonyms

advance search box

Subject Encyclopedias

Subject encyclopedias are a good starting point for researching a topic, especially an unfamiliar topic. The library provides access to many online encyclopedias. The following list of encyclopedias will help you to find background information on mythology, various cultures, and popular culture topics:

Librarian Contact

Profile Photo
Lisa Abbott
Contact:
abbottLT@appstate.edu
828-262-2009