LibGuides: Health Statistics & Data Sets: Overview

Two health journal databases -- Where are other researchers getting their data?

Where are other researchers getting their data? Articles' methodology sections may lead you to publicly available data. In some cases, the researchers have measured phenomena and present original data.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information from more than 5,200 journals in the life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It provides access to over 14 million citations and abstracts. The fields include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.

Coverage: 1950-present
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to nearly 1,200 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals, as well as publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. It includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, and educational software. Abstracts are included for over 250 journals.

Other Health Data Sites

UNC Chapel Hill guide to health data
Michigan State University Libraries Health Data & Statistics Guide
Finding and Using Health Statistics
This guide from the National Library of Medicine explains the scope of available health statistics and identifies key sources.
Peterson-Kaiser Health System Dashboard
Tracks U.S. health system performance over time across four domains: health spending, quality of care, access and affordability, and health and wellbeing.
Data Librarianship Links
Thanks, Lynda! Not a site focusing on health data, but lots of useful links.

Are you mapping health data? Cartographic Guidelines for Public Health

Cartographic Guidelines for Public Health, CDC 2012

Watauga, North Carolina

Community Health Reports for Watauga, Ashe, and Alleghany Counties (Appalachian District Health Department)
The community health assessments include Healthy Reports, Child Health Reports Card, Cancer Profiles and other related health indicators for Ashe, Alleghany and Watauga Counties.
NC State Center for Health Statistics
NC State Data Center
The Triangle Census Research Data Center (TCRDC)
The TCRDC is a "partnership between the U.S. Census Bureau and Duke University in cooperation with the University of North Carolina System." Provides access to "unpublished microdata from economic and demographic censuses and surveys, confidential data from the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)."

United States

CDC Wonder
A portal to several CDC databases concerning health-related topics for public health information and numerical data sets such as AIDS/STDs, risk behaviors (the Behavioral Risk Surveillance System), mortality and natality statistics.
Data and Statistics (CDC)
Links to scientific data, surveillance, health statistics and laboratory information.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
Published weekly and annual statistical reports on specific diseases as reported by state and some at the city level.
DATA2010
Only updated through 2011. This database contains data for Healthy People 2010, a framework of "national health objectives designed to identify the most significant preventable threats to health and to establish national goals to reduce these threats."
Tracking Healthy People
This database contains the most recent monitoring data for tracking Healthy People 2020.
FedStats
Gateway to statistics and data access tools from more than 70 U.S. federal agencies. A regional index for profiling states and county.
National Center for Health Statistics, NCHS
The U.S. government’s principal vital and health statistics agency.
NCHS data systems include data on vital events as well as information on health status, lifestyle and exposure to unhealthy influences, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of health care. [Source: About NCHS]
Health, United States, 2015
(Online book in PDF)
Annual report on trends in health statistics. The report consists of a chart book that illustrates major trends in the health of Americans, and a trend tables section of detailed data tables.
FastStats A-Z
index for health statistics by subject.
National Vital Statistics Report
Regular issues cover provisional birth, death, marriage, and divorce statistics. Four to six special issues are issued per year. These issues cover the final data on births for the previous year, and special topic analyses are issued from time to time.
Census Bureau's DataFerrett
HealthData.gov
Wide variety of data sets
CDC 550 Cities data
This is the complete dataset for the 500 Cities project. This dataset includes 2013, 2014 model-based small area estimates for 27 measures of chronic disease related to unhealthy behaviors, health outcomes, and use of preventive services.

International

GHDx -- Global Health Data Exchange
Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation -- University of Washington
EuroStat
The official statistics gathering body of the European Union. Information about public health and aging society are among the health statistics included.
NationMaster.com (RapidIntelligence, Australia)
A central data source which allows users to graphically compare nations using sources such as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.
Pan American Health Organization - Regional Core Health Data Initiative
Characterizes the health situation and trends in the countries of the Americas.
STATcompiler (MEASURE DHS, project funded by USAID)
STATcompiler allows users to create customized tables on several indicators and several developing countries. The MEASURE DHS (Demographic and Health Surveys) project developed STATcompiler for collecting and disseminating data on fertility, family planning, maternal and child health, as well as child survival, HIV/AIDS, malaria, and nutrition. To download entire surveys, users must apply for a free Download Account.
World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO Statistical Information System
Epidemiological and statistical information available from a variety of sources.
World Health Report:
contains basic social indicators and disease statistics.
World Health Statitics 2017
World Health Statistics 2017 compiles data on 21 health-related Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) targets, with 35 indicators, as well as data on life expectancy.

Contact -- John Wiswell

John Wiswell wiswellj@appstate.edu

Belk Library 225 262-7853

Available for consultations with students -- Email me.

Statista

Statista This link opens in a new window
Includes health and healthcare
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Chapter 3 is on Health.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Emphasis is on the United States, but some tables cover regions, states, cities, and comparative international statistics. Information is gathered from all agencies of the federal government and from private, commercial, and professional sources. Earlier print editions are located in ASU Reference HA 202 (main floor) or online from the U.S. Census Bureau (1878-2012).

Library Guides

Health Statistics & Data Sets: Overview

Need a dataset?