Research Guides: Global Studies: Overview

Global Studies

This guide provides an overview of resources useful for conducting research in the Global Studies program.

For more in-depth research assistance, please schedule an appointment with me via the RAP request form.

Background Notes
The U.S. Department of State produces this series of reports, each of which describes the people, history, foreign relations, and economy of countries worldwide.

Business Source Complete
Provides full text access for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.
Provides full text access for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
CIAO publishes a range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, foundation-funded research, proceedings from conferences, journals, and policy briefs.
CIAO publishes a range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, foundation-funded research, proceedings from conferences, journals, and policy briefs.
Columbia Gazetteer of the World
An encyclopedia of geographical places and features, with over 170,000 entries.
An encyclopedia of geographical places and features, with over 170,000 entries.

Country Information
This is an AppState Library Guide.
Country Studies
Country Studies is a series offering detailed accounts of the political, social and economic institutions of the countries and their cultural milieu.

Global Road Warrior
Provides comprehensive business travel, telecommunications, and business culture reference information on 175 countries.
Provides comprehensive business travel, telecommunications, and business culture reference information on 175 countries.
World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.