Skip to main content

Film Studies: A Brief Guide to Key Resources: Overview

The Film Studies Bible

Monaco, James. How to Read a Film: Movies, Media, and Beyond. 4th ed. PN1994 M59 2008.
This is the book everyone interested in film and media must read. A classic.

Film Genres

Friedman,, Lester D. An Introduction to Film Genres. PN1995 F744 2013.

Gehring, Wes D., ed. Handbook of American Film Genres. PN1993.5 U6 H335 1988.

Grant, Barry Keith. Film Genre Reader IV. 4th ed, 2012.

Lopez, Daniel. Films by Genre: 775 Categories, Styles, Trends, and Movements Defined, with a Filmography. PN1998 L63 1993. Another copy in Reference.

Mayer, Geoff, and Brian McDonnell. Encyclopedia of Film Noir. Also available in print, PN1995.9 F54 M39 2007.

Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film. 3 vols. Reference PN1995.9D6 E53 2006.

App State Online

Distance Education students have access to the full array of Library resources and services. See the AppState Online library guide for details.

Key Reference Works in Film Studies

Databases for Film Studies. Find articles on film topics here.

Reference Universe. Find articles on film topics in many different encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.

Katz, Ephraim. The Film Encyclopedia. 7th ed. PN1993.45 K34 2012.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory. 2014.

Thomson, David. The New Biographical Dictionary of Film. 6th ed. Ref PN1998.2 T49 2014.

 

Find More

Search the Library catalog to find books, films, web sites, and more. Select Books & Media, then pick Subject from the drop-down menu. Try such phrases as:

film criticism

motion picture industry

motion pictures

Also search for genres, such as:

film genres

comedy films

documentary films

film noir

musical films

science fiction films

western films


Find articles in magazines and journals by searching the sources listed in the Databases for Film Studies list.

Subject Guide

Suzanne Wise's picture
Suzanne Wise
Contact:
Belk Library and Information Commons
Appalachian State University
Boone, NC 28608-2026
tel: 828-262-2798

Curator of the Stock Car Racing Collection

Selected New Resources

Barsam, Richard, and Dave Monahan. Looking at Movies: An Introduction to Film. 5th ed. PN1994 B313 2015.

Auger, Emily E. Tech-Noir Film: A Theory of the Development of Popular Genres. PN1995.9 S26 A95 2011.

Litch, Mary M., and Amy Karofsky. Philosophy through Film. 3rd ed. PN1995.9 P42 L53 2014.

Zacks, Jeffrey M. Flicker: Your Brain on Movies. PN1995.9 A8 Z33 2014.