Getting Started: encyclopedias and dictionaries that provide background information.
Books: suggestions for finding books at Appalachian State University, UNC-Asheville, and Western Carolina University (WNCLN Catalog) and at other institutions (WorldCat), including a list of subject headings and call numbers.
Scholarly Articles & News: suggested databases for finding journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Videos & Images: Library databases, digital collections and websites for locating video and images.
Primary Sources: library digital collections of historical newspapers and papers, interviews, and other historical materials.
Web Resources: links to research guides, organizations, building codes, demographic information, as well as information on evaluating websites.
Annotated Bibliography: outlines what an annotated bibliography is and its various components.
Request a Research Appointment - provides students the opportunity to meet with a librarian for in-depth reference assistance to identify appropriate sources for a research topic.
GV 1580: Dance periodicals
GV 1585: Dictionaries, encyclopedias
GV 1587: Terminology, abbreviations, notations
GV 1587.5: Directories
GV 1588: Philosophy and theory
GV 1589: Study and teaching
GV 1590-94: General overview of dance
GV 1595: Special aspects of the subject
GV 1596: Pictorial works
GV 1596.5: Juvenile works
GV 1597: Dancing as a profession
GV 1600-1620: Dance criticism, appreciation, history
GV 1621-1728: the above by geographical region
GV 1735: Apparatus and equipment
GV 1740-41: Ethics; Dancing and the church
GV 1743: National dances. Folk dances (general)
GV 1746-1771: Social dancing. Ballroom dancing
GV 1781-1795: Theatrical dancing
GV 1782.5: Choreography
GV 1783: Modern or expressionistic dancing
GV 1783.5: Religious dance
GV 1784: Jazz dance
GV 1785: Biography
GV 1785.8-1786: Dance groups or companies
GV 1786.32-1790: Ballet
GV 1793: Clog dancing
GV 1794: Tap dancing
GV 1796, A-Z: other dances, alphabetical by dance name
GV 1798: Gymnastic dancing; rhythmic exercise
GV 1799: Dances for special classes of persons
