Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Sources - Newspapers
The clippings file is a valuable resource for articles from major papers of the southern Appalachian region, with a concentration on western North Carolina newspapers. Mostly 1980s to present.
The clippings file contains photocopies of selected articles from racing periodicals for more than 1500 subjects.
Regional Newspapers in the Appalachian Collection (on microformat, not indexed)
One of the best newspaper collections for the Appalachian region exists in the Appalachian Collection. For help using microfilm or micorfiche, just ask at the main desk in Special Collections.
Newspaper databases which may report on the Appalachian region. Where you start depends on your research topic. These may be useful starting places:
Watauga Democrat, published in Boone, North Carolina
Search the Watauga Democrat through the Newspapers.com interface, part of the North Carolina Historic Newspaper Collection database.
Digitized by the Library of Congress
Digitized by Digital NC
Appalachian State University Historical Newspapers
- Student Newspaper: The Appalachian (1934-present)
- Print versions (1934-present) are available in the Dougherty Reading Room in Special Collections
- Digitized versions (1934-1998) are available online
- Current issues of The Appalachian are available on The Appalachian's website
- Vertical Files
- Vertical files are folders stored in filing cabinets that contain collections of pamphlets, clippings, ephemera and other small published and unpublished items on a wide range of topics related to the University's history