Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Appalachian History: Digital Collections Online

A guide to primary sources for the history of Appalachian region.

Primary Sources on the Web

North Carolina Digital Collections that include Appalachian materials

  • Digital NC at University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

Includes Appalachian State University yearbooks and bulletins/course listings

Includes photographs of Boone from the Watauga County Public Library

Includes materials from over 20 Appalachian region libraries and special collections

Includes Greer and Abrams folksong collections, Appalachian State University Historical Photographs, and more

Includes Cherokee Phoenix newspaper (1828-1834), Civil War letters, Horace Kephart materials, and more

Includes materials related to Asheville history, and covers topics such as Jewish life, Civil War, land speculation history and more

Includes Black Mountain College, Civil War, North Carolina newspapers and maps, photographs, tourism, Works Progress Administration in North Carolina, World War I, and more

Includes Documenting the American South and much more

National Digital Collections that include Appalachian materials

 Search archival materials from the Library of Congress in numerous subject areas

Search across state and institutional rare book and archival collections, including Kentucky Digital Library, the University of Virginia, and the Digital Library of Georgia

Databases

Digital Projects