Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Appalachian History: Special Collections

A guide to primary sources for the history of Appalachian region.

Searching Special Collections

Books and Manuscript Collections

Examples of Special Collections "Locations" you may encounter next to the call number in the Library catalog:

Browseable Stacks

Materials with these Location codes in the W.L. Eury Appalachian Collection and the Stock Car Racing Collection are available for check-out or browsing on-site.

ASU SPEC APP COLL

ASU SPEC APP COLL MAP

ASU SPEC APP COLL OVSZ

ASU SPEC APP COLL VIDEO

ASU SPEC APP COLL CD

ASU SPEC APP COLL MIC

ASU SPEC STOCKCAR STACKS

 

Archives, Manuscripts & Rare Books 

Materials with these Location codes are rare or unique materials for use in Special Collections; ask at the service desk or email us at spcoll@appstate.edu

ASU SPEC APP COLL CLOSED

ASU SPEC APP COLL ARCHIVES

ASU SPEC APP COLL TRAIN

ASU SPEC APP COLL PARKWAY PUB

ASU SPEC APP COLL C D WILLIAMS

ASU SPEC APP COLL LINNEY

ASU SPEC STOCK CAR CLOSED BOOK

ASU SPEC UARCHIVES PUBLICATIONS


Search Manuscript and Archives Collections

Use the "Search Finding Aids" button and search box on Special Collections' home page.


Browse Appalachian Collection Resources by Format

This page provides an overview of resources available in the Appalachian Collection by format (see gray sidebar for options).

How to View Archives & Rare Books

For Spring 2021 access procedures, please click here.

Below are non-COVID-19 period procedures (not current).

1.  Make an appointment (required).  Email spcoll@appstate.edu or come by Monday-Friday, between 10:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.  Please give 24 hours advance notice to reserve a table and materials you plan to use.

2.  Visit Special Collections Monday-Friday between 10:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. to request the materials at the front desk inside the department.  Special Collections is located on the 4th Floor of Belk Library and Information Commons.  See a map.

_________________________________________

How to Register

Complete a Researcher Registration form at your first visit, or in advance and bring it with you.

What to Bring

o   Picture ID (ASU identification, driver’s license, passport)

o   Pencil, paper, or laptop.  NO PENS ALLOWED.

What Not to Bring

o   Food, drink, tobacco products, indelible writing instruments.

Duplication             

Copies are available if they do not violate copyright law or donor agreements, and if they can be made without damage to the material.  We can provide photocopies, digital scans, and audiovisual duplication.  Digital cameras are allowed, after agreeing to duplication guidelines.  Fees vary according to service.

Never done archival research? See a brief slideshow about our procedures

How to Use the Open Stacks

What's the Open Stacks?

Publications, newspapers, clippings files, genealogical resources, videos, CDs, and maps for the Appalachian Collection and Stock Car Racing Collection. Many items may be checked out by patrons with valid Library cards. Materials marked "For Library Use Only" do not circulate.

Hours

For Fall 2020 access procedures, please click here.

Special Collections

Special Collections

Special Collections homepage

About Special Collections

Hours

Visit Special Collections:  4th Floor, Belk Library

Contact us!