Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching University History in the University Archives: Resources by Request (Archives & Rare Books)

This guide provides an overview of sources from the University Archives that will help you research the history of Appalachian State University in Boone, North Carolina.

Vertical Files

University Archives Vertical Files

This is a good starting place for researching University history. These files contain press releases, newspaper articles, and sometimes ephemera related to the topic, person, or publication.

Click on the below links to see indexes for each topic. A folder exists for each heading listed in the index. These files are available by request, Monday-Friday, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.  See the "Special Collections" tab in this guide to learn how to view materials.

Sample:  Subject Files:  Buildings--Holmes Convocation Center

University Archives

Search the University Archives

The University Archives contains the official records gathered from offices and departments, as well as the papers of individuals and organizations that are part of the history of the University.

Use the "Guides and Finding Aids" search box on the Special Collections homepage to search all finding aids and research guides in the University Archives. Results will also include hits in collections within the Appalachian Collection, Rare Books and Manuscripts, and Stock Car Racing Collection.

University Publications

Publications

Search the Library Catalog to find publications by and about Appalachian State University or its predecessor names.

 

"Location" in the closed stacks (access Monday-Friday, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.) in the catalog record is ASU SPEC UARCHIVES PUBLICATIONS.  See example below.