Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching University History in the University Archives: Online Sources

This guide provides an overview of sources from the University Archives that will help you research the history of Appalachian State University in Boone, North Carolina.

Photographs

Historical Photographs OnlineAppalachian State Normal School campus, 1926

The ASU Historical Photographs are searchable through the "Advanced Search" (located in upper right-hand corner of the page) in this link. These photos are also searchable through the Digital Public Library of America.

Sample searches:  Aerial views, Homecoming, B.B. Dougherty.

 

If the digital photographs are inaccessible due to a technical problem, you may use the original photographs in Special Collections, Monday-Friday, 10:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.  Many of the digital photos are part of collection UA.5015, University Communications Records.                                            

Campus Maps

Campus Maps

Browse a selection of Appalachian State University campus mapsCampus map of Appalachian State UniversityAdditional maps are available in the University Archives Subject File Collection, filed under Subject--Buildings--Maps of Campus.

 

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for the town of Boone, NC, also offer views of the campus in 1928 and 1947.  The "About the Collection" page provides information about the colors and other map keys.

undefined

Campus News

The Appalachian Student Newspaper

The Appalachian student newspaper is online and searchable!  The paper through this link covers the year 1934 to 1998, with a few gaps.   See below for search directions.

How to Search

1. Type keyword(s) the search box in the upper right-hand corner of the Digital Collections page or click here to search.

2.  Filter the results by collection in the left-hand column.  You can choose The Appalachian Student Newspaper to search just the paper.

3.  Once you have your results, you can search within each result to highlight your search terms in the text.  To do so, click on a result and then locate the front page of the issue in the viewer at the bottom of the page.  In the top right corner of the page viewer, there is an arrow. Click on that arrow to open the document in another window. In the new window there will be a search box in the upper right-hand corner. If you search from this box, the text will be highlighted.  

 

University News Releases

Please contact us to search the digital archive of University press releases from 2000 to 2014.  Earlier releases are available in the University Archives in UA. 5015, University Communications Records.

Yearbooks & Course Catalogs