Research Guides: Rehearsing for Real Life: Media Literacy and SIFT

SIFT

STOP

investigate the information and the source of the information before reading or sharing.

Investigate the Source

What do you know or what can you find out about the source of this information?
Do a google search for the author or institution that is creating this media.

Find better coverage

Can you find a credible source that is reporting this information?
How do the two sources compare?

Trace claims, quotes, and media back to the original context

Locate the original source of this information.
Are the claims, quotes and media being represented accurately?

Media and Information Literacy

Just as you might use your trusty CRAAP test to evaluate scholarly resources, media (especially in the wake of Generative AI) requires scrutiny of a different sort.

Do you know your news?

News or Opinion? - Writing Commons. (2018, May 1). https://writingcommons.org/article/news-or-opinion/

Check out this nifty guide on Evaluating News Sources from California State University San Marcos.

Find Other Coverage

Get out of the echo chamber, and find what is discussed on this Globally:

Le Monde
Written in French, Le Monde provides day-to-day news coverage of French, European, and international issues and events affecting politics, society, business, and culture (current).
Written in French, Le Monde provides day-to-day news coverage of French, European, and international issues and events affecting politics, society, business, and culture.
Canadian Newsstream
Covers over 200 Canadian newspapers including the complete available backfile for some newspapers, providing full text access to the articles, columns, editorials and features (1977-present).
Covers over 200 Canadian newspapers including the complete available backfile for some newspapers, providing full text access to the articles, columns, editorials and features.
International Newsstream
Provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, and South China Morning Post (current).
Provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, and South China Morning Post.

Check out this wonderful list of other international news sources!

Rehearsing for Real Life: Media Literacy and SIFT

Science Librarian

SIFT

Media and Information Literacy

Do you know your news?

Find Other Coverage

Science Librarian