LibGuides: CI 5040 Teacher as Researcher: Articles

Article Databases and More

Search your topics in the following databases to find scholarly journal articles.
Consider consulting Databases -- browse by subject or type to determine which other databases are related to your research.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source provides full text access for more than 1,800 journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands more. Also including are full text for 550 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers. Education Source is an upgrade from Education Research Complete.

Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Source also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Sources include journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books. Each year approximately 30,000 new records are added.

Subjects include adult, career, and vocational education information; technology assessment and evaluation; language and linguistics; disabilities and gifted education; reading and communication; educational management; teacher and teacher education; elementary and early childhood education; urban education; higher education and more.
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Educational Administration Abstracts covers educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and more.

Indexes key educational resources such as Educational Administration Quarterly, Review of Higher Education, Journal of Educational Administration.
Education Law in North Carolina This link opens in a new window
ELNC is designed to provide North Carolina school officials and administrators with legal information pertinent to the management of their schools and school systems.

Coverage: Current
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles (over 2,500 journals), book chapters, books, and dissertations.

Covers psychology and related disciplines,with 97 percent of the material peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Coverage: 1887-present
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Searches over 13,000 journals covering a wide array of academic disciplines including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.

Google Scholar

Search the Web using Google Scholar to access scholarly articles either published in free, open access journals or in tradtional subscription journals but posted in e-repositories and on university websites.

Information Cycle

Articles delivered electroncially - free!

The article you need is not available online?
We will find it, scan it, and make it available to you electronically.

1. Use ILLiad - our interlibrary loan system. If new to ILLiad see First Time Users or Login.
2. Select New Request - Article. Provide requested information.
3. You will receive an e-mail indicating when the article is available. Follow the prompts and retrieve the article within stated timeframe.
4. That's it! Check ILLiad - Outstanding Requests to track the progress of orders and more.

Library Guides

CI 5040 Teacher as Researcher: Articles

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Articles

Article Databases and More

Google Scholar

Information Cycle

Articles delivered electroncially - free!