Research Guides: Researching Nonprofits: Home

Library Databases

Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes journal articles covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Includes fundamental data on over 50,000 global publicly traded companies, annual reports for over 300,000 companies worldwide, and more.

GuideStar
GuideStar is a searchable database with information on over 2.7 million nonprofit organizations. Register for a free account for full access to nonprofit profiles.
Charity Navigator
Charity Navigator rates the overall financial health, transparency, and accountability of over 1.6 million charities.
IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search Tool
Find information about an organization's tax-exempt status and filings. You can use the online search tool or download specific data sets.
Nonprofit Explorer
Use this database to view summaries of 3 million tax returns from tax-exempt organizations and see financial details such as their executive compensation and revenue and expenses. You can browse IRS data released since 2013 and access more than 14 million tax filing documents going back as far as 2001.

Nonprofit Management and Leadership
Brings together knowledge about special needs, challenges, & opportunities of nonprofit organizations & offers insights on common concerns of nonprofit leaders in all settings.
Journal of Nonprofit & Public Sector Marketing
Forum for the development of marketing thought and for the dissemination of marketing knowledge in the non-profit and public sector of the economy. Devoted to the study of the adaptation of marketing for use by these organizations.
Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly
Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly publishes high-quality peer-reviewed manuscripts from a diverse array of disciplinary and methodological perspectives on nonprofits, philanthropy, voluntary action, and civil society across the globe. The journal publishes full-length articles, research notes, and book reviews.

Nonprofit World
For executives, boards, staff & volunteers of nonprofit organizations. Focuses on key result areas of managing & leading a nonprofit organization.
Nonprofit Business Advisor
Nonprofit Business Advisor is an award-winning monthly newsletter that publishes the most forward-thinking advice and best practices for nonprofit professionals in order to help strengthen fiscal governance, improve leadership strategies, and advise on important legal and tax issues.