Research Guides: Special Education: Assistive Technology

Best Bet Subject Databases for Assistive Technology

Search your topics in the following databases to find scholarly journal articles. You may also consult Databases - browse by subject to determine which other databases are related to your research. If you are connecting from off-campus, you will be prompted for your username & password or real name and Banner ID number before you may search the databases.

Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to scholarly journals in the health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, materials science and engineering, and the social sciences and humanities.
Provides full text access to scholarly journals in the health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, materials science and engineering, and the social sciences and humanities.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of the top nursing and allied health literature, including more than 5,000 journals.
Provides indexing of the top nursing and allied health literature, including more than 5,000 journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences.
This resource is freely available from the Internet. The Linkout feature, which is marked with an icon, provides access to the full-text of journals subscribed to by Appalachian State University Libraries.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive international coverage of sport and fitness-related topics, drawn from websites, journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings.
Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access for more than 1,800 journals covering all levels of education, as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands more.
Provides full text access for more than 1,800 journals covering all levels of education, as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands more.

Key Assistive Technology Professional Organizations & Publications

Associations
Publications & Journals

All links open in a new window.

RESNA
Rehabilitation Engineering and Assistive Technology Society of North America
CAST
Center for Applied Special Technology
ATiA
Assistive Technology Industry Association
OCALI Assistive Technology Internet Modules
AEM Center
National Center on Accessible Education Materials through CAST
NCATP
North Carolina Assistive Technology Program

All links open in a new window.

JMIR Rehabilitation and Assistive Technologies
Open access journal
Journal of Rehabilitation and Assistive Technologies Engineering
Open access journal
Assistive Technology
Official journal of RESNA
Disability & Rehabilitation
Journal of Special Education Technology
JSET is a refereed professional journal that presents up-to-date information and opinions about issues, research, policy, and practice related to the use of technology in the field of special education.

Special Education: Assistive Technology

Education Librarian

Best Bet Subject Databases for Assistive Technology

Key Assistive Technology Professional Organizations & Publications

Education Librarian