Monaco, James. How to Read a Film: Movies, Media, and Beyond. 4th ed. PN1994 M59 2008.
This is the book everyone interested in film and media must read. A classic.
Friedman,, Lester D. An Introduction to Film Genres. PN1995 F744 2013.
Gehring, Wes D., ed. Handbook of American Film Genres. PN1993.5 U6 H335 1988.
Grant, Barry Keith. Film Genre Reader IV. 4th ed, 2012.
Lopez, Daniel. Films by Genre: 775 Categories, Styles, Trends, and Movements Defined, with a Filmography. PN1998 L63 1993. Another copy in Reference.
Mayer, Geoff, and Brian McDonnell. Encyclopedia of Film Noir. Also available in print, PN1995.9 F54 M39 2007.
Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film. 3 vols. Reference PN1995.9D6 E53 2006.
Distance Education students have access to the full array of Library resources and services. See the AppState Online library guide for details.
Databases for Film Studies. Find articles on film topics here.
Reference Universe. Find articles on film topics in many different encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.
Katz, Ephraim. The Film Encyclopedia. 7th ed. PN1993.45 K34 2012.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory. 2014.
Thomson, David. The New Biographical Dictionary of Film. 6th ed. Ref PN1998.2 T49 2014.
Search the Library catalog to find books, films, web sites, and more. Select Books & Media, then pick Subject from the drop-down menu. Try such phrases as:
motion picture industry
Also search for genres, such as:
science fiction films
Find articles in magazines and journals by searching the sources listed in the Databases for Film Studies list.
218 College Street • PO Box 32026 • Boone, NC 28608