LibGuides: Building Science: Articles

Selected Journals

The following selected journal titles are available either in full text online or print from ASU, Western Carolina or UNC-A ( the Western North Carolina Library Network). To locate complete journal holdings please check the Library Catalog. Journals held at Western Carolina University or University of North Carolina at Asheville can be obtained via ABC Express. Other journals can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.

Selected Building Science journals:

Builder (National Association of Home Builders) 1997-
Building and Environment 1996-
Building Design and Construction 1989-
Buildings (The Construction and Building Management Journal) 1996-
Case Studies in Construction Materials 2014-
Construction and Building Materials 1999-
Design Issues 1998-
Design News 1971-
Energy and Buildings 1995-
Energy Conversion and Management 1995-
International Journal of Project Management 1995-
I ssues in Science and Technology 1990-
Journal of Construction Engineering and Management 1995-
Journal of Power Sources 1995-
Solar Energy 1995-
Solar Energy Materials and Solar Cells 1995-
Solar Today 1994-
Technology Review: MIT's Magazine of Innovation 1998-

Finding Articles -- Library Databases

Library databases allow you to search for journal articles by keyword, author, title, subject and other search terms.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Searches over 13,000 journals covering a wide array of academic disciplines including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.
Applied Science and Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to over 600 International English-language science and technology magazines and journals. Over 115 journals in full text.

Covers chemistry, engineering, computer technology, mathematics, data processing, physics, and energy-related disciplines.
Coverage: Indexing: 1983-present | Full text: 1997-present
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, surveying over seven hundred American and international journals.
Major areas of coverage include: Archaeology, Architecture, Architectural design, City planing, Furniture and decoration, Historic preservation, History of architecture, Interior design, Landscape architecture, and Urban planning.
Coverage: 1934-present
BuildingGreen.com This link opens in a new window
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly and general interest journals, as well as government documents and reports. GreenFILE offers coverage of all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Coverage: 1970s-present
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ (formerly LexisNexis Academic) features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to more than 1,200 journals from the Elsevier Science journal collection. Coverage of academic journals in the following areas: Biochemistry; Biological Sciences; Earth Sciences; Economics; Energy; Engineering & Technology; Environmental Science; Materials Science; Microbiology & Immunology; Neurosciences; Nursing and Health Professions; Physics and Astronomy; Sustainability and much more.
Coverage: 1960s-present
Web of Science (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for over 12,000 academic journals, proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions, from three databases:
Science Citation Index, 1899-
Social Sciences Citation Index, 1898-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-
Web of Science also offers a true cited reference index, which allow you to trace particular research forward in time or backward in time to see how works grow and develop in a focused area of research.

Scholarly Journals

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by scholars or experts on the topic
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contain citations (footnotes and/or bibliography) documenting sources

For more information, see the Popular and Scholarly Sources Library Research Tutorial.

Citing Your Sources

A citation is a record of where you encountered a certain idea. Citing your sources helps other scholars track down resources they find of interest. Proper citation helps us all build on our knowledge.

How to Cite Sources

Library Guides

Building Science: Articles

Subject Guide