Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Scholarly Communication: Research Profiles for Impact & Visibility

Actions to enhance your visibility

There are many things you can do to enhance the visibility of your research:

  • Analyze who is using your research and through which channels
  • Avoid journals that are not well-indexed
  • Create an ORCID
  • Blog and tweet selectively on your research topics
  • Deposit your publications in NC DOCKS, the university repository
  • Publish Open Access
  • Share your data (NC DOCKS, ICPSR, etc.)
  • Use research profiles to unambiguously link your publications

Researcher profile sites & services

There are various types of sites and services that are important in fostering your visibility:

  • Personal sites and social media: Facebook, LinkedIn, own website, blog
  • Search engines with author profiles: Google Scholar
  • Author "disambiguation" services: ORCID and ResearcherID
  • Researcher Communities: Academia / ResearchGate
  • Reference management tools with social functions: Mendeley
  • University author profile pages on univeristy department Websites and in NCDOCK

 

You might try one or more of these:

  • Create a Google (Scholar) account and activate Google Scholar Citations
  • Create an ORCID account
  • Create a ResearcherID
  • Create a ResearchGate acoount
  • Create an Academia.edu account
  • Create a Mendeley account
  • Get your scholarship in the institutional repository, NC DOCKS

More visible with ORCID in three steps

ORCID

 

 

ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID) is a non-proprietary, international ID that provides you with a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher. It is strategically important because it enables all databases to automatically link publications to you by your ORCID. At ORCID you can create a profile, link it to your Scopus ID, ResearchID and/or import publications from a so-called crossref search. Further functionality is being developed.

  1. Go to ORCID, register for an ORCID ID (under "for researchers") and complete your profile
  2. Click "import research activities" and follow instructions to import publication details from e.g. Scopus
  3. Click "view public ORCID record" to check whether it does not show anything you do not like to be publicly visible

More visible with Researchgate in three steps

Research Gate   

ResearchGate is a very large (originally German) researcher community linking researchers around topics. It is frequently used to ask questions to collegues all over the world that have the same set of interests and specialisations. You can choose which topics or researchers to follow. You can automatically populate your publications list or add items from reference management tools or add manually. You can even upload and share full text publications (e.g. last author versions that many publishers allow you to share).

 

  1. Go to Researchgate, sign up and complete your profile with whatever you think relevant.
  2. Add your publications by clicking add publications" and choosing "author match".
  3. Select one or two topics to follow if you want

More visible with Academia.edu in three steps

Academia.edu      

 

 Academia.edu is a large researcher community. Just as ResearchGate it connects scholars around topics. You can add papers through a built in search using Microsoft Academic, PubMed and ArXiv. You can also add ful text. The process is easy, but the coverage not as comprehensive as Google Scholar.

  1. Go to Academia.edu and sign up.
  2. Add publications/papers by clicking your name top right, then "add papers"and "import"
  3. Find a few people in your field to follow

More visible with Mendeley in three steps

Mendeley

 

 

One of the steps towards visibility and efficient reference management is a Mendeley account. Mendeley is an Elsevier-owned reference management tool that is used by millions of researchers, offers immediate readership statistics and has strong social functions. Probably many of your publications are already present in the Mendeley database, but with your own account you can make sure that all of them are. And you can do much, much more.

  1. Mendeley, make an account.
  2. Complete your profile
  3. Add publications:
    1. (PDF-)files of (your) papers on your hard drive (in one go)
    2. references from a search in Google Scholar or another bibliographic database
  4. Start building a network of colleagues or (open or closed) groups

Of course, for the reference management function of Mendeley there are many alternatives, such as Zotero, Endnote, RefWorks and more.  See Library Guides on citation management.

More visible with the your work in NC DOCKS in three steps

NC Docks

 

 

NC DOCKS (NC Digital Online Collection of Knowledge and Scholarship) is a statewide digital repository of faculty scholarly work as well as electronic theses and dissertaitons managed locally by Appalachian State Library.  Faculty members can deposit journal articles, conference papers, presentations, and other scholarly products they wish to share with the world -- with scholars and students who may otherwise be unable to access them online. NC DOCKS records the number of views of each item to give you a general idea of the use of your works in the open access repository.

The benefits of putting your papers in Appalachian State's web-accessible institutional repository are many:
(1) The main benefit is increased citations and impact for you!  Studies I can share with you show that traditionally published articles that are also posted in a IR receive a significantly greater number of citations than others not posted.  They simply get more readers who can find them on the web. 
(2) You will be helping the many researchers around the world who cannot afford subscription or have no access to interlibrary loan. 
(3) You will also have a convenient place on a stable web site to refer colleagues and students even if you move or retire.

Getting your articles and conference papers into NC DOCKS is simple:
(1) Just let the one of the NC DOCKS Librarians  know (listed below) you are interested and send him/her a list of your pubs (a CV will do).  They will check the publishers'  policies to see which allow self-archiving and then begin building your open access archive.
(2) They may need to get back to you for some author versions of the final drafts.  
(3) Ideally, it is good practice to send them the final Word documents of articles submitted to publishers after you receive confirmation of publication.

To make your scholarship and data open access in NC DOCKS contact:
 Business: Leslie Farison,  farisonll@appstate.edu, 828-262-2789
 Health Sciences: John Wiswell,  wiswellj@appstate.edu, 828-262-7853
 Humanities: Alex McAllister, mcallisterad@appstate.edu, 828-262-8472
 Social Sciences, Education & other areas: Allan Scherlen, scherlnag@appstate.edu, 828-262-2285

More visible with Google Scholar Citations in three steps

google scholar

Whether you like it or not, Google Scholar is by far the most widely used bibliographical tool for scholarly publications. It has a problem however, and that is metadata control. You can enhance your findability by creating an account and telling Google which publications in their database are yours. After taking these steps searches on your name will show your profile on top of the results. The profile itself shows your list of publications in Google Scholar with basic metrics. Besides journal papers, it may also include books and reports.

  1. If you do not yet have a Google account, go to Google and create it.
  2. Go to Google Scholar, make sure you are logged in and click "My Citations"
  3. Follow instructions to create your profile and add or remove publications that are yours or not yours
  4. You can get an overview of people at our institution with a Google Scholar profile
  5. Once you have activated your profile, Google Scholar gives you automatically reading suggestions based on your citations (on the homepage and a full list by clicking "my updates")
  6. You can track new papers and citations (of yourself and/or others)
  7. More about Google Scholar Citations

Note: Because new articles are automatically added to authors' profiles it is wise to check regularly, because in rare cases articles may be wrongly attributed to you.

More visible with a ResearcherID in three steps

Researcherid

ResearcherID is the profile tool from Thomson Reuters, the owners of Web of Science and the Journal Citation Reports. Researcher ID offers a public profile. You can choose what to show publicly. Researcher ID is also important as a basis to provide feedback to Web of Science for grouping author name variants or corrections to affiliations.

  1. Go to Researcher ID, sign up and complete your profile.
  2. Add some publications if you have a few listed in Web of Science and preview the public version of your profile.
  3. If you already have made an ORCID ID you can link Researcher ID to that. It is best to do that in a place where you have access to Web of Science.

Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Photo
Allan Scherlen
Contact:
Belk Library, Office no. 224
P.O. Box 32026
Appalachian State University
Boone, NC 28608
828-262-2285
scherlnag@appstate.edu