Research Guides: Demography &amp; Population Studies: Books & Reference Sources

Reference Sources

AAAS atlas of population & environment by Paul Harrison, Fred Pearce ; foreword by Peter H. Raven
Call Number: ASU Ref. HB849.415 .H374 2000
Publication Date: c2000
Brings together an enormous amount of available and up-to-date information concerning population growth and its impact on the biosphere, including the technology of waste management and the way the environment changes in response to a given amount of resource use and/or pollution. Scrupulously illustrated with charts and maps.
Atlas of world population history by Colin McEvedy and Richard Jones
Call Number: ASU Ref. HB851 .M32
Publication Date: 1978
Historical data on population growth by region, sub-region and selected countries.
Demographic yearbook. Annuaire démographique
Call Number: ASU Ref HA 17.D45
International collection of national demographic statistics.
International encyclopedia of population by editor in chief, John A. Ross
Call Number: ASU Ref. HB849.2 .I55 1982 2 vols. w/index
Publication Date: c1982
Lengthy signed articles on aspects of population studies and demography which include statistics and bibliographies.
World population : a reference handbook by Geoffrey Gilbert
Call Number: ASU MAIN STACKS HB871 .G47 2005
Publication Date: c2005
Exhaustively updated, this second edition provides a current assessment of world population and the range of economic, social, and environmental issues it raises.

Referencce Sources

Britannica Academic
High-quality, comprehensive information, including access to the Britannica encyclopedia, atlas, world data, the Classics, biographies, news, multimedia, and more.
High-quality, comprehensive information, including access to the Britannica encyclopedia, atlas, world data, the Classics, biographies, news, multimedia, and more.

Avoiding Plagiarism

The Appalachian State University Academic Integrity Code defines plagiarism as "presenting the words or ideas of another as one's own work or ideas."

Avoiding Plagiarism

Finding Books & Other Materials

WNCLN Library Catalog
The catalog provides access to the combined library holdings of Appalachian State University, UNC-Asheville, and Western Carolina University.

WorldCat
WorldCat is a catalog of over 35 million books, serials, audiovisual media, maps, archives/manuscripts, scores, and computer files from 17,000 libraries around the world. Electronic interlibrary loan requesting is available for qualified patrons. WorldCat is not an index to journal articles.

Citing Your Sources

A citation is a record of where you encountered a certain idea. Citing your sources helps other scholars track down resources they find of interest. Proper citation helps us all build on our knowledge.

Demography & Population Studies: Books & Reference Sources

Social Sciences Librarian