Includes seven reference titles from CQ Press: Congress and the Nation; Historic Documents Series; Political Handbook of the World; Politics in America; Supreme Court Yearbook; Vital Statistics on American Politics; and the Washington Information Directory.
Covers nearly 60 years of the events, trends, and controversies in the U.S. Congress and the presidency; the most important primary source documents from the last three decades; current, in-depth political information on more than 200 countries; unbiased profiles and assessments of every member of the U.S. Congress, including key votes, interest-group ratings, election results, state and district information; sixteen years of expert coverage of the U.S. Supreme Court, including case summaries of every opinion during each court term; over 10,000 current contacts in federal, congressional, and state government offices, nongovernmental organizations, policy groups, and foundations; and key data on U.S. elections, the U.S. Congress, the presidency, the Supreme Court, public opinion, and more.
Provides full text access to more than 250 reference sources, primarily encyclopedias, covering the arts, business, education, the environment, history, law, literature, medicine, nations, religion, sciences, and social sciences.
Each handbook from Oxford University Press takes an aspect of its discipline and unpacks it, explaining the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and setting the agenda for how those debates might evolve.
Oxford Handbooks are available in four subject modules: Business & Management, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion.
The 20 chapters in Courts, Law, and Justice cover a wide range of sharply contested topics, including drug and gun control laws as well as the ins and outs of the criminal justice system as encountered by arrested suspects, during the trial process, and during the sentencing phase.
Among the general themes covered: agencies and organizations, statistics, culture, drug enforcement, investigative techniques, minority issues, personnel issues, policing strategies, terrorism, and victims/witnesses.
This two-volume encyclopedia for race and crime topics provides entries for important figures, legal cases, concepts and theories, correctional practices, courts, media drugs, juvenile justice, organizations, public policies, race riots and themes of violence that have impacted the fields of criminology and criminal justice since the 19th century.
Police and Law Enforcement examines many aspects of policing in society, including their common duties, legal regulations on those duties, problematic policing practices, and alternatives to traditional policing.