Research Guides: UCO 1200 The Art/Science of Fly Fishing: Fly Fishing- Scholarly & Popular Sources

Scholarly Articles- Databases for Fly Fishing--Best Bets

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
North Carolina Maps This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, online collection of historic maps of the Tar Heel State.
North Carolina Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Index of over 60 journals and magazines published in North Carolina.
Biological Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to nearly 400 journals, with more than 325 available in full text.

Popular Sources- Fly Fishing News and More!

Local Fly Fishing Information:

- Blue Ridge NC Trout Unlimited- fishing reports

- The Catawba Angler

Magazines:

- Fly Fisherman: Online (Full Text Access 1996- Present)

- Field and Stream- Online (Full Text Access 2001- Present)

Blogs:

- Orvis Fly Fishing Blog: "The Orvis Fly-Fishing Blog celebrates a rich angling heritage stretching beyond a century, with timely articles, tips, photos, videos, podcasts, and the latest fly-fishing news. We keep you informed about the things you want to know, from improving your casting technique to the art and science of tying flies."

- MidCurrent: "Daily fly fishing news, reviews, and tips from fly fishing's most authoritative source."

Podcasts:

- The Drake Cast: "There are a lot of great flyfishing podcasts out there that interview legends within the industry or tell you how to catch more fish. Each episode of this podcast contains interviews and tips, but neither are the main focus. Our goal is to put listeners on the water and make them laugh. If they learn a thing or two, all the better. In the first few episodes, we chase trout on a nearly frozen stream in Northern Wisconsin, check in on Great Smoky Mountains National Park after a fire tried to burn it to the ground, and swing flies for Great Lakes steelhead on Michigan’s Pere Marquette River.

Each episode relates back to flyfishing, but sometimes the connection can be subtle. For example, how did the reconstruction of a dam in Kentucky affect the non-native trout below? How are the changes in the ecology of Lake Michigan affecting lake-run fish and the anglers that target them?

Our hope is that you listen to our show as you drive to your favorite fishing hole. If you’re not able to make it out of the office that weekend, plug us in while your boss isn’t looking.

When you press play, we hope to tingle that ever-so-sensitive spot inside your ear drum.

You can subscribe to The DrakeCast via these links: iTunes, Stitcher, Soundcloud. Make sure to check back each week to see behind-the-scenes photos taken during the recording of each episode."

Tight Lines by David D. Gilmore
ISBN: 9780300150322
Publication Date: 2007-10-16
Since the first copy of the Yale Anglers' Journal appeared in 1996, readers with an interest in fish and fishing have opened the pages of each issue with anticipation and delight. YAJ's founders suspected that others would share their passion for literature and art related to angling; what they had not fully anticipated was the intensity of enthusiasm from readers and writers everywhere. Perhaps they shouldn't have been surprised. Statistics tell us that 35 million Americans regularly fish, and among their numbers are presidents and students, old and young, the famous and the unknown, the busy and the idle.This anthology presents a selection of 50 stories, recollections, essays, and poems featured in the Yale Anglers' Journal during its first remarkable decade. Accompanied by original artwork from James Prosek, these writings all celebrate fish and the experience of fishing, yet they could hardly be more diverse. Some evoke a nostalgic earlier time, others vibrate with excitement, and still others offer a humorous view of life's surprises. The contributions come from well-known current writers, little-known newcomers, and even authors of antiquity, such as Homer, who had a thing to say about fishing. Anyone who has felt a line pull tight, or is curious to know why the experience has inspired anglers throughout human history, will want to open the pages of this inviting book. "So here is where I came out as I entered my fiftieth year....I believe in a balanced life. I do not want to fish all the time....But I have learned that I am also a person who has to be able to go fishing whenever I can and for as long as I want to go."--from "Amare O Pescare," by Howell Raines

Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use Google Scholar through the library to be automatically linked to the full text of articles we own.

How to search for scholarly articles

Search WorldCat

Enter title, subject or author to search for an item in libraries near you:

University Libraries Research Guides

UCO 1200 The Art/Science of Fly Fishing: Fly Fishing- Scholarly & Popular Sources

Librarian