Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Judaic, Holocaust & Peace Studies: Cite Sources - Chicago

AppState University Writing Center

University Writing Center Resources

AppState's University Writing Center has assembled a comprehensive set of Chicago Style resources and is the recommended place to start if you need help.

All links open in a new window.

Chicago (Turabian) Style - Electronic Sources

Citation examples for electronic sources
Electronic Source Type Example Notes Turabian  Manual

Online book

Ambler, Tim, and Morgen Witzel. Doing Business in China. London: Routledge, 2000. ebrary e-book.

  Turabian 17.1.10

Magazine article from a subscription service

Kluger, Jeffrey. “Dr. Sigmund Doolittle.” Discover, February 1996. http://find.galegroup.com... (accessed April 1, 2005).

The URLs in the examples have been truncated—indicated by an ellipsis […]—but you should use the full URL. Turabian 17.3, 17.2.7

Journal article from a subscription service

Lappan, Glenda. “Revitalizing and Refocusing Our Efforts.” Journal for Research in Mathematics Education 30, no. 5 (1999): 568-78. http://vnweb.hwwilsonweb.com... (accessed February 8, 2005).

Thompson, Michael D., and Robert O. Riggs. “Institutional Expenditure Patterns and the Facilitation of Mission.” Community College Review 27, no. 4 (2000): 1- . http://search.ebscohost.com...  (accessed December 20, 2004).

The URLs in the examples have been truncated—indicated by an ellipsis […]—but you should use the full URL. Turabian 17.2.7

Newspaper article

See notes

Newspaper articles are not generally included in a bibliography; they are cited only in notes. Turabian 17.4
Encyclopedia article or work in anthology from a subscription service

See notes

Encyclopedia articles are not generally included in a bibliography; they are cited only in notes.

For documents from online databases, detailed information is given in footnotes; the bibliography lists only the database and the URL for the main page of the database. For example, an article from the Dictionary of Literary Biography that was found in the Literature Resource Center database would appear in the bibliography as:
Literature Resource Center. http://galenet.galegroup.com

Turabian 17.5.3, 17.5.9
Website

“Bio.” A&E Television Networks. http://www.biography.com (accessed September 8, 2008).

  Turabian 17.7.1
Article on website

Musinsky, Gerald. “Animal Spirits.” Encyclopedia Mythica Online. http://www.pantheon.org/animal-spirits.html (accessed January 17, 2007).

  Turabian 17.7.1

 

 

Chicago (Turabian) Style - Print Sources

Books

Citation examples for print books
Print Source Type Example Notes Turabian  Manual

One author

Fairbanks, Carol. Prairie Women: Images in American and Canadian Fiction. New Haven:  Yale University Press, 1986.

  Turabian 17.1.1

Two or more authors

Davidson, William R., Daniel J. Sweeney, and Ronald W. Stampfl. Retailing Management.  6th ed. New York: Wiley, 1988.

List all authors, no matter how many there are. Turabian 17.1.1

Anonymous book

New York Public Library American History Desk Reference. New York: Macmillan, 1997.

  Turabian 17.1.1

Anthology or compliation

Feldman, Paula R., ed. British Women Poets of the Romantic Era. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1997.

  Turabian 17.1.1
Work in an anthology

Shutte, Nancy, and Laura Tangley. "Problem Drinkers Can Learn Moderation." In Addiction: Opposing Viewpoints, edited by Jennifer A. Hurley, 93-100. San Diego: Greenhaven, 2000.

  Turabian 17.1.8

Articles

Citation examples for articles in print sources
Article Type Example Notes Turabian  Manual

Magazine articles

Mathews, Jay. "How to Build a Better High School." Newsweek, May 16, 2005.

Wright, Karen. "The First Earthlings." Discover, March 2003.

The first article example is from a weekly magazine. The second is from a monthly magazine.

Do not abbreviate names of months

Turabian 17.3

Journal article

Cnattingius, Sven, Anna Torrång, Anders Ekbom, Fredrik Granath, Gunnar Petersson, and Mats Lambe. "Pregnancy Characteristics and Maternal Risk of Breast Cancer." JAMA 294, no. 19 (November 2005): 2474-2480.

Albada, Kelly Fudge. "The Public and Private Dialogue about the American Family on Television." Journal of Communication 50, no. 4 (Autumn 2000): 79-110.

There is no distinction made between journals with continuous paging and those with issues paged separately. Turabian 17.2

Encyclopedia article

See notes Encyclopedia articles are not generally included in a bibliography; they are cited only in notes. Turabian 17.5.3

Newspaper article

See notes

Newspaper articles are not generally included in a bibliography; they are cited only in notes. Turabian 17.4
Work in an anthology

See notes

  Turabian 17.1.8

 

 

Chicago (Turabian) Style - Non-Print Sources

Citation examples for non-print sources
Source Type Example Notes Turabian  Manual

Interview

See notes

Unpublished interviews are not generally included in a bibliography; they are cited only in notes. Turabian 17.6.3

Videotape or DVD

Bioterror. VHS. Directed by Kirk Wolfinger. Boston: WGBH Boston Video, 2002.

List all authors, no matter how many there are. Turabian 17.8.5

Librarian

Profile Photo
Alex McAllister
Contact:
Belk Library
828.262.8472