Research Guides: Interior Design: Finding Articles

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by scholars or experts on the topic
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contain citations (footnotes and/or bibliography) documenting sources

For more information, see library tutorial.

Citing Your Sources

A citation is a record of where you encountered a certain idea. Citing your sources helps other scholars track down resources they find of interest. Proper citation helps us all build on our knowledge.

Multidiciplinary Databases for Interior Design

The complete list of library databases.

Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, exhibition reviews, and news items about all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability.
Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books in the fields of art, art history, architecture, interior and landscape design, and more.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index of articles on architecture and design from American and international journals along with publications of professional associations and major international serials on architecture and design.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes nearly 170 full-text periodicals, and indexes thousands of English and foreign-language periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, dissertations, and art reproductions.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.
ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text journal articles on agriculture, ecology, renewable energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, environmental technology, law, and policy, and more.

IIDA Knowlegde Center
The International Interior Design Association's resource database that contains a selection of research abstracts on a variety of design topics, with links to the original article or source. Do a book title or journal title search in the catalog to locate materials if necessary.

University Libraries Research Guides

Interior Design: Finding Articles

Librarian

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals

Citing Your Sources

Multidiciplinary Databases for Interior Design

The complete list of library databases.

Google Scholar

Librarian