The following online tutorial will guide you in the use of the WNCLN Library Catalog:
For more information about library materials, please check the Library Catalog at http://wncln.wncln.org/
The following is a selected list of Library of Congress Subject Headings that may be helpful in finding information: Enter each item as a Subject search:
To identify other subject headings or keyword search terms to use in the library catalog, consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings database.
TR1 - TR225 Photography, general works
TR250 - TR265 Cameras
TR265 - TR267 Digital photography
TR287 - TR500 Photographic processing
TR510 - TR545 Color photography
TR550 - TR581 Studio and laboratory
TR590 - TR620 Lighting
TR624 - TR835 Applied photography (artistic, commercial, etc.)
TR845 - TR899 Cinematography
TR925 - TR1050 Photomechanical
Catalogues Raisonnés are scholarly compilations of an artist's body of work. They often include essays, bibliographies of scholarly writing about the works, and illustrations of works. They are critical tools for researching the provenance (where the wrok has been), auction prices, and attribution of artwork.
Collection Catalogues provide a record of works in private or public collections, and often reflect a portion of the collection. Many are devoted to a specific genre or period in a particular museum collection. Like Catalogues Raissonnes, they often include essays, bibliographies, notes on provenance, auction prices, condition etc.
Exhibition Catalogues document the contents of a temporary exhibition from a museum or galleries.
Auction Catalogues (sometimes called a sales catalogues) are produced by an auction house to list and describe the art works to be sold by auction.
Listed here are selected new materials on photography in the Library's collection.
Smith, Shawn Michelle. At the Edge of Sight: Photography and the Unseen. TR23 S626 2013.
The catalog provides access to the library holdings of Appalachian State University (books, movies, music scores, music CDs, government documents, audiobooks, and more).
