Scholarly Resources - LAW 2150 - Legal Environment of Business - LibGuides at Appalachian State University

Using Articles From Law Reviews

One of the best ways to begin legal research is to find a relevant law review article.

What is a Law Review?
Law review articles are written by professors, attorneys, and law school students. These scholarly publications contain lengthy articles and shorter essays by professors and lawyers, as well as comments, footnotes. or developments in the law written by students.
Why use a Law Review?
By finding one good article from a law review, you will get a discussion, analysis and critique of a topic and additional reference to pertinent cases, statutes and other law review articles.

Finding Articles

ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text for more nearly 4,000 business journals, and citations with abstracts to 1,000 more business titles.

Coverage: Full text 1991-present | Indexing 1905-present
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Covers accounting, banking, finance and economics, management, marketing, MIS, POM, and other business topics.
Coverage: 1886-present
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Each report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles, plus a pro-con feature, chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts, round out each report. There are 44 reports done each year and four expanded reports.

Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in-depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Some recent topics include: Biotech Foods; Energy Policy; Kids in Prisons; Middle East Conflict; Testing in Schools.

Coverage: 1923-present
Law Reviews (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Law Reviews (LexisNexis) provides full text review articles from over 500 publications.

Cover a wide variety of legal topics.

Coverage: 1982-
WestlawNext This link opens in a new window
WestlawNext offers access to statutes, cases and regulations of all fifty states as well as all federal jurisdictions, and coverage from over 600 US newspapers.

In addition, the database includes Keycite (for ensuring your cases have received only positive subsequent treatment) for all jurisdictions, as well as selected secondary sources for most states. Also includes access to secondary sources, such as American Jurisprudence, 2d, American Law Reports, and law reviews. Most significantly, WestlawNext offers broad access to North Carolina legal materials. Documents can also be accessed through broad subject categories such as Civil Rights, International Law and Environmental Law.

Click for a complete list of Law databases

Accessing and Searching WestlawNext

WestlawNext This link opens in a new window
WestlawNext offers access to statutes, cases and regulations of all fifty states as well as all federal jurisdictions, and coverage from over 600 US newspapers.

In addition, the database includes Keycite (for ensuring your cases have received only positive subsequent treatment) for all jurisdictions, as well as selected secondary sources for most states. Also includes access to secondary sources, such as American Jurisprudence, 2d, American Law Reports, and law reviews. Most significantly, WestlawNext offers broad access to North Carolina legal materials. Documents can also be accessed through broad subject categories such as Civil Rights, International Law and Environmental Law.

Instructions: You will be asked to sign in - select I agree then click continue.
Step 1: From the All Content list select Secondary Sources
Step 2: From the By Type list select Law Reviews & Journals

Step 3: Enter terms in the search box

Google Scholar Search

TIPS:
Review the search results list to determine the:
1) format for materials: article, working paper, book, white paper, etc)
2) the access options: PDF (freely available), Find@ASU (ASU pays for it)

Library Guides

LAW 2150 - Legal Environment of Business: Scholarly Resources

Coordinator of Access & Public Services

Using Articles From Law Reviews

Finding Articles

Accessing and Searching WestlawNext

Google Scholar Search

Coordinator of Access & Public Services