Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations.

United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present, including Popular Culture, American Studies, Literature/Folklore, Genealogy, Women's Studies/Gender Studies, Multicultural Studies, Interdisciplinary Studies, Anthropology, Sociology, History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law.
Coverage: 1955-present

Project Muse provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage is in the following areas: Classics; Cultural Studies; Economics; Education; Film, Theater and Performing Arts; History; Judaic Studies; Language; Law; Literature; Math; Music; Philosophy and Religion; Philosophy and Science; and Politics.
Coverage: 1996-present

Coverage in the following areas: African American Studies; Anthropology; Asian Studies; Ecology; Economics; Education; Finance; History; Literature; Mathematics; Philosophy; Political Science; Population Studies; Sociology; Statistics. Coverage: Coverage is the beginning of the journal until two to five years ago.

Gale in Context combines biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands of images, and links to vetted websites.

A comprehensive database of biographical information on over 380,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Search for people---both current and historic from all eras and fields of endeavor---based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text.
Coverage: Current and retrospective

Education Source provides full text access for more than 1,800 journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands more. Also including are full text for 550 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers. Education Source is an upgrade from Education Research Complete.

Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Source also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.

Index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books.

Coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.

Coverage: 1960s-present

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles (over 2,500 journals), book chapters, books, and dissertations.

Covers psychology and related disciplines,with 97 percent of the material peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Coverage: 1887-present

The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. Provides educational data covering assessment, early childhood, elementary/secondary, international, library, and postsecondary education.

NCES issues numerous publications and datasets each year. These include: early releases, issue briefs, statistical reports, directories, and handbooks of standard terminology. Many publications report the findings of specific surveys, but at least three--Digest of Education Statistics, Projections of Education Statistics, and The Condition of Education--cover the field of education statistics from a broad perspective.

Coverage: 1995-present

This collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents, with over 6 million pages from 29,000 works. Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography.

Includes original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and much more.

Coverage: 1500-1926

Gale Primary Sources searches 18th Century Collections Online (ECCO), 19th Century Collections Online (NCCO), the Making of the Modern World, and Sabin Americana.

Gale enhances the story by combining collections and bringing to the surface new research connections across several centuries—and millions of pages of—newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs.
Coverage: 1500-1926

DigitalNC is the online home for materials presented by the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center. This site contains digital versions of primary sources from cultural heritage institutions around North Carolina.

Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials. Collections currently include: College and University Yearbooks; Durham Urban Renewal Records; collections from Wilson and Davie Counties. Items by type include: architectural drawings; business cards; clothing; diaries; government records; maps; menus; photographs; postcards; quilts; scrapbooks; seals (impressions); and yearbooks. Over eight decades of student life at Appalachian State University are documented in the Rhododendron, the student yearbook. Digital versions of the Rhododendron from 1923 to 2006 are now available.

Coverage: 1800s-present

Sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, this collection of documents brings to life American history from the times of the earliest settlers until the end of World War II.

It is divided into two modules: Module 1 Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859 and Module 2 Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945. Over 60,000 primary source documents split across two modules, including correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork and maps. Secondary resources include chronology, essays, video lectures, and interactive features.

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.

This collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity. Also featured is a rich selection of visual material, including photographs, maps and ephemera.

Key themes include desegregation, urban renewal and housing problems, civil rights activities and protests, Race relations and community integration, and African American culture.