LibGuides: Teaching Middle Grades Mathematics: Web Portals &amp; Databases

Web Portals

Each web portal provides access to multiple databases and resources on many different topics.

NCLive
NC LIVE provides online access to a large and diverse collection of resources aimed at serving educational, economic, and information needs. It includes a number of databases, full text content, and indexing of more than 50,000 newspapers, journals, magazines, encyclopedias, e-books, e-audio, and streaming video titles.
NC Wiseowl
Contains many resources and links to databases, encyclopedias, e-books and more for use in Middle Grades classrooms.

Education and Statistics Databases

Databases contain journals and journal articles, scholarly research studies, white papers, book chapters, conference proceedings, statistical information, videos, and other information useful for research and teaching.

When searching databases, you can be more specific if you use keywords and subject headings to locate the information you need. Here are some of the databases used for research on Middle Grades education.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Provides access to numerous scholarly, peer-reviewed materials
Education Source provides full text access for more than 1,800 journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands more. Also including are full text for 550 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers. Education Source is an upgrade from Education Research Complete.

Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Source also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.

Education Database
Access to scholarly articles, white papers, conference papers, books, and reports through NCLive
ERIC
Sources include journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books. Each year approximately 30,000 new records are added.

Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books, providing information of key education topics.
Index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books.

Coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.

Coverage: 1960s-present
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles (over 2,500 journals), book chapters, books, and dissertations.

Covers psychology and related disciplines,with 97 percent of the material peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Coverage: 1887-present
National Center for Education Statistics This link opens in a new window
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. Provides educational data covering assessment, early childhood, elementary/secondary, international, library, and postsecondary education.

NCES issues numerous publications and datasets each year. These include: early releases, issue briefs, statistical reports, directories, and handbooks of standard terminology. Many publications report the findings of specific surveys, but at least three--Digest of Education Statistics, Projections of Education Statistics, and The Condition of Education--cover the field of education statistics from a broad perspective.

Coverage: 1995-present

State Data Center
Statistical data provided by the NC Office of State Budget and Management

Scholarly Articles

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by scholars or experts on the topic
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contain citations (footnotes and/or bibliography) documenting sources

Library Guides

Teaching Middle Grades Mathematics: Web Portals & Databases

IMC Librarian

Web Portals

Education and Statistics Databases

Scholarly Articles

Search Google Scholar

IMC Librarian