Research Guides: Teaching Middle Grades English Language Arts: Web Portals, Databases, &amp; Teaching Resources

Web Portals

Each web portal provides access to multiple databases and resources on many different topics.

NCLive
NC LIVE provides online access to a large and diverse collection of resources aimed at serving educational, economic, and information needs. It includes a number of databases, full text content, and indexing of more than 50,000 newspapers, journals, magazines, encyclopedias, e-books, e-audio, and streaming video titles.
NC Wiseowl
Contains many resources and links to databases, encyclopedias, e-books and more for use in Middle Grades classrooms.

Literary Topic Databases

Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Provides combined access to Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online, and Something About the Author Online.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 150,000 writers in all disciplines.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for classic texts, plot summaries, synopses, work overviews, literary criticism essays, author biographies and interviews, literary journals, book reviews, and poems.

Additional literature databases
Belk Library database holdings

Search Google Scholar

Education and Statistics Databases

Databases contain journals and journal articles, scholarly research studies, white papers, book chapters, conference proceedings, statistical information, videos, and other information useful for research and teaching.

When searching databases, you can be more specific if you use keywords and subject headings to locate the information you need. Here are some of the databases used for research on Middle Grades education.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access for more than 1,800 journals covering all levels of education, as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands more.

Education Database
Access to scholarly articles, white papers, conference papers, books, and reports through NCLive
ERIC
Sources include journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books. Each year approximately 30,000 new records are added.

Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines.
National Center for Education Statistics This link opens in a new window
Data and anaysis related to education in the U.S. and other nations.

State Data Center
Statistical data provided by the NC Office of State Budget and Management

Poetry Databases

Faber Poetry Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century. Contains 140 volumes by 50 poets.
English Poetry (600-1900) This link opens in a new window
Drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources, more than 1,250 poets are represented.
Twentieth-Century English Poetry This link opens in a new window
More than 600 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to 2000.
African American Poetry 1750-1900 This link opens in a new window
Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Twentieth-Century African American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century.
American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Contains over 40,000 poems by more than 200 poets, written between 1650 and 1920.
Twentieth-Century American Poetry This link opens in a new window
50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including biographical information on each poet.

Film Databases

Films available through Belk Library Databases

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Provides over 21,000 high quality streaming videos on a wide variety of topics, including award-winning documentaries, interviews, and instructional and vocational training videos.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Click red button to Visit the App State Collection and then Log in to App State.
Kanopy provides educational streaming access to over 27,000 documentaries and critically acclaimed films.

Films available on the web and through NCLive

University Libraries Research Guides

Teaching Middle Grades English Language Arts: Web Portals, Databases, & Teaching Resources

IMC Librarian