Skip to Main Content

University Libraries Research Guides

Creating Lesson Plans: Primary Resources

Search Google Scholar

Primary Resources

There are a number of databases and websites that contain digitized primary resources. The Teacher's edition of some textbooks may provide lists and links for some of these resources. Here are a few databases and websites for you to explore:

Archive of Americana This link opens in a new window
Now part of Readex AllSearch.
Features over 1,375 newspaper titles from all 50 states, more than 100,000 books, broadsides and pamphlets, and much more.

Digital Collections at ASU
Access to the digital collections in the library's special collections
Digital Public Library of America

DigitalNC This link opens in a new window
Digital versions of primary sources from cultural heritage institutions around North Carolina.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Digital collections on many different subjets
Library of Congress-Teaching with Primary Sources
Homepage for the Teaching with Primary Sources Program
Use the links on the left side of the page to access primary resources such as American Memory and the Veterans' History Project
Newseum
This website contains information about history and the press, with emphasis on the First Amendment.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Primary sources on the experiences of over 1,000 North American women as revealed in approximately 150,000 pages of diaries, letters, and manuscripts.

Primary Resources for Humanities
Databases of primary resources materials with access provided through the ASU database portal.

Primary and Secondary Sources

IMC Librarian

Margaret Gregor

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

828-262-8088

gregormn@appstate.edu

Subjects: Career & Technical Education, Child Development, Children's Literature, Education, Educational Leadership (EdD), Higher Education, Human Development & Psychological Counseling, Library Science, SPE3310