Research Guides: CI 3110, CI 3060, &amp; CI 3554 Researching Social Studies Topics: Web Resources

A few History Websites & Databases

Best of History Websites
Digital NC
Discovering American Women's History Online
History
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive contains links to thousands of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
National Jukebox
PBS Resources

African American Archives This link opens in a new window
African American Archives provides over one million pages of original historical documents pertaining to the African American experience.
African American Archives provides over one million pages of original historical documents pertaining to the African American experience.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
More than 7,000 videos including commercial and governmental news, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
More than 7,000 videos including commercial and governmental news, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
Presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact.
Presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Primary sources on the experiences of over 1,000 North American women as revealed in approximately 150,000 pages of diaries, letters, and manuscripts.
Primary sources on the experiences of over 1,000 North American women as revealed in approximately 150,000 pages of diaries, letters, and manuscripts.
Women's Studies Archive: Women’s Issues and Identities This link opens in a new window
Presents primary source materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society.
Presents primary source materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society.

Evaluating Resources

Here are some questions to use when evaluating the credibility of the information you locate:

5 W Questions (5Ws): Think critically about each of your sources by answering five questions to determine if the source is credible/reliable. The acceptable answers to these questions will vary depending on your needs. The questions are:

Who is the author? (Authority)
What is the purpose of the content? (Accuracy)
Where is the content from? (Publisher)
Why does the source exist? (Purpose and Objectivity)
How does this source compare to others? (Determining What’s What)

SMART Check: This method is particularly good for evaluating newspaper and other media sources.

Source: Who or what is the source?
Motive: Why do they say what they do?
Authority: Who wrote the story?
Review: Is there anything included that jumps out as potentially untrue?
Two-Source Test: How does it compare to another source?

These methods of evaluating credibility were published in a University of WashingtonLibGuide: https://guides.lib.uw.edu/research/faq/reliable

Research Portals

NC Live
Available through NC public libraries this portal links you to many databases

Poetry Resources on the Web

The Poetry Archive
Offers information on poets and poetry and resources for teachers
Poetry Foundation
Poetry resources for teachers and parents
Poetry Foundation Learning Lab
Poetry resources
Poetry Foundation Teacher Resourcces
This page contains LINKS to many poetry websites and resources for teachers.
Poetry 180
A poem for every day of the school year --chosen by Billy Collins, former Poet Laureate, for high school students
Poets.org
This is the website of the American Academy of American Poets. It contains many poetry resources for educators.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
Academic and research resource for courses needing to locate children’s and young adult books and other media.
Academic and research resource for courses needing to locate children’s and young adult books and other media.
TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window
Contains instructional materials for K-12 fiction and nonfiction books.
Contains instructional materials for K-12 fiction and nonfiction books.

International Children's Digital Library
A digital library of world literature for children and young adults
NCTE Poetry Resources
National Council of Teachers of English resources for teaching poetry including interviews with poets

CI 3110, CI 3060, & CI 3554 Researching Social Studies Topics: Web Resources

IMC Librarian

A few History Websites & Databases

Evaluating Resources

Research Portals

Poetry Resources on the Web

IMC Librarian