Research Guides: ENG 4560 Young Adult Literature (Online): Research

Useful Databases for Research in Young Adult Literature

Something About the Author This link opens in a new window
Covers the lives and works of authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Provides combined access to Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online, and Something About the Author Online.
TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window
Contains instructional materials for K-12 fiction and nonfiction books.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, books, and other resources on folklore, languages, linguistics, and literature.

Academic Search Complete
"Contains magazines, eBooks, and multimedia resources from all academic areas."

Novelist Plus This link opens in a new window
Use NoveList to find a good read. Contains reviews, annotations, readalike recommendations and more for fiction and non-fiction.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
Academic and research resource for courses needing to locate children’s and young adult books and other media.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more, in the humanities and social sciences.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access for more than 1,800 journals covering all levels of education, as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands more.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.

The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) Book Finder
ALAN Assembly on Literature for Adolescents
This is an independent assembly of NCTE whose membership includes individuals who are interested in Young Adult literature.
National Council of Teachers of English
The official website of NCTE offering professional development opportunities, lesson plans, and other teaching resources
VOYA
VOYA magazine is the leading library journal dedicated to the promotion of young adult literature and reading. VOYA reviews over 350 new books in each publication and provides articles related to young adult readers.
Rethinking Schools
Organization devoted to social justice, teacher activism, and educational reform