LibGuides: CI 3920: Teaching Young Adolescents: Finding Articles in Education

Google Scholar or Subject Specific Databases

Google Scholar

Subject Databases

boat in an ocean

Using Google Scholar is similar to fishing in the ocean. You will find and catch a wide variety of fish.

Google Scholar offers a wide variety of articles and resources on various subjects and topics.
Searching in Google Scholar can result in numerous hits with many being irrelevant to your specific subject or topic.

boat in a river

Using a Subject Specific database is similar to fishing in the New River. The New River specializes in a smaller variety of fish, and you are more likely to catch the type of fish you want.

Using a subject specific database helps to focus and narrow your search resulting in more relevant hits.

Searching Subject Databases

Basic Search

Search Tips

To search for an exact phrase, use quotation marks “ “ around the phrase
- “achievement gap”
- “student achievement”
- “grade point average”
- “standardized testing”
Use OR to search for similar or synonymous words
- race OR ethnicity
- adolescent OR teenager

Advanced Searches

Refine Your Search

Use the limit options on the left to refine your search results.

Education Databases

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source provides full text access for more than 1,800 journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands more. Also including are full text for 550 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers. Education Source is an upgrade from Education Research Complete.

Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Source also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles (over 2,500 journals), book chapters, books, and dissertations.

Covers psychology and related disciplines,with 97 percent of the material peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Coverage: 1887-present
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books.

Coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.

Coverage: 1960s-present
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Sources include journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books. Each year approximately 30,000 new records are added.

Subjects include adult, career, and vocational education information; technology assessment and evaluation; language and linguistics; disabilities and gifted education; reading and communication; educational management; teacher and teacher education; elementary and early childhood education; urban education; higher education and more.

Tutorials

The following tutorials will assist you in conducting your research.

Library Guides

CI 3920: Teaching Young Adolescents: Finding Articles in Education

Education Librarian

Google Scholar or Subject Specific Databases

Searching Subject Databases

Education Databases

Tutorials

Education Librarian