Caldecott Medal Awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
Newbery Medal Awarded to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
Coretta Scott King Award Awarded to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.
Pura Belpre Award Awarded to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.
Orbis Pictus Awarded for promoting and recognizing excellence in the writing of nonfiction for children.
Gale Literary Sources provides combined access to Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online and to Something About the Author Online.
Artemis Literary Sources provides information on authors and their works in all genres and disciplines. The following series are included in this database:
Children's Literature Review Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism Contemporary Literary Criticism Drama Criticism Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism Poetry Criticism Shakespearean Criticism Short Story Criticism Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism Coverage: 1400's-present
CLCD is an academic and research resource for courses needing to locate children’s and young adult books and other media.
Reviews come from 36 review sources, including Children's Literature; The Horn Book Magazine; Kirkus; Media & Methods; and Parent's Guide. CLCD includes over one million fiction/non-fiction titles, hundreds of thousands of awards and professional reviews including author/title links, lesson plans and teaching guides. The search engine offers multiple options including 50 search filters for finding materials to determine interest and reading levels, selecting trade books based on standards, creating thematic and annotated biographies, interpreting reviews, developing classroom collections, book challenges and collection development.