LibGuides: ENG 4591 Theory and Practice in the Teaching of High School English (Vogel): Finding Books

Subject Headings

The following is a list of Subject Headings that may be useful in finding information.

Select the subject search in the catalog to use these terms.

Reading Secondary
English Language Study And Teaching Secondary
Literature study and teaching secondary
Young Adult literature study and teaching secondary
Lesson Planning
Language Arts Secondary
Literacy United States
Reading Comprehension United States

Search Google Scholar

APPsearch

ASU ASU + WCU + UNCA

To get the full text of articles, try both the Find@Appstate link and the article title, or contact a librarian for assistance.

Reference Sources To Use as Background Material For Teaching

Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century (ASU REFERENCE PN 771 E5 1999)
Includes information on individual writers, literary movements, and national literatures.
Oxford Companion to English Literature (ASU REFERENCE PR19 D73 2006)
Biographies and bibliographic references.
Benet's Readers Encyclopedia (ASU REFERENCE PN41 B4 2008)
Includes information for the general reader on writers, literary movements, works, historical perspectives, etc.
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture: Vol. 9: Literature--online resource
Surveys Southern literature's major authors, works, movements, genres, and themes. Contains biographical and literary history along with bibliographic citations, critical commentary, and cross-references.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature (ASU REFERENCE PS153 N5 G73 2005)
Focuses on the most important narrative and non-narrative genres and motifs, major scholars and works, representative artists' key groups, and critical historical and theoretical concepts.
Literature and Its Times (ASU REFERENCE PN50 L574 1997)
Includes profiles of 300 notable literary works and the historical events that influenced them.
Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature (ASU REFERENCE PN41 M42 1995)
Covering the literatures of the world. Includes information on literary characters, plot summaries, terminology, etc.
Oxford Companion to American Literature (ASU REFERENCE PS21 H3 1995)
Alphabetical arrangement. Short summaries of biographical information, important works, definitions, and literary movements.
The World Atlas of Language Structures --online resource
Geographical distribution of language features with full-color world and regional maps.

Library Guides

ENG 4591 Theory and Practice in the Teaching of High School English (Vogel): Finding Books

Education Librarian

Subject Headings

Search Google Scholar

APPsearch

Reference Sources To Use as Background Material For Teaching

Education Librarian