Irish History Online is an authoritative guide (in progress) to what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present….Searches can be made by author/editor, by title or keyword from title, by subject, by journal title or series, or by publication details.. Acts like a catalog of secondary sources specific to Irish history. Users will have to look elsewhere to actually see the publications.
The History of Parliament Online contains the 21,420 biographies and the 2,831 constituency surveys so far published by the History of Parliament, a major academic project to create a scholarly reference work describing the members, constituencies and activities of the Parliament of England and the United Kingdom. New material added for the online version includes a growing collection of images, some new introductory articles on individual parliaments, and interpretative articles on events and concepts of significance for parliamentary history. See History of Parliament books in print at ASU.
The Victorian Web: Literature, History and Culture in the Age of Victoria
The Victorian Web, edited by George P. Landow PhD, is a scholarly website containing links to primary and secondary sources about topics in Victorian British history. The Victorian Web has existed since 1987 and is updated daily. While it can be searched, the emphasis of this site is its links to show connections to various facets of Victorian history. Do not be put off by its rudimentary design; it is a valuable resource.
Victoria Research Web: Scholarly Resources for Victorian Research
The VRW is dedicated to the scholarly study of nineteenth-century Britain, and to aiding researchers, teachers, and students in their investigations of any and all aspects of this period. Scroll down on the main page to the Table of Contents to get started.
“BBC British History In-Depth” is operated by the BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation) in London. It covers British history by period, with links to more detailed articles within each period. The site also provides links to a British history timeline, and articles about world history. Authors of articles appear to be academics. Features include interactive graphics and games about history.
The catalog provides access to the library holdings of Appalachian State University (books, movies, music scores, music CDs, government documents, audiobooks, and more).
Enter title, subject or author to search for an item in libraries near you:
Daily Life of Victorian Women. Santa Barbara, California : Greenwood, 2013
Documents the lives of women outside of the domestic sphere in 19th-century England, including work and political activities.
Daily Life in Victorian England. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2009.
A great social history reference source that discusses the basics of everyday life under Queen Victoria: class, work, politics, private and family activities, education, religion, leisure, and “Victorian morality.”
Black Victorians/Black Victoriana. New Brunswick, N.J.: Rutgers University Press, c2003.
This source is a monograph that provides information about black Britons during the nineteenth century. Table of contents: http://catdir.loc.gov/catdir/toc/fy036/2002012406.html
The Oxford Illustrated History of the Royal Navy. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1995.
This highly-rated history of the Royal Navy is worth getting through ABC Express. Written by international experts and full of illustrations, this history is valuable for those studying the navy or military in any time period.
A History of the British Army. New York: AMS Press, 1976.
Considered a seminal history of the Army, this multi-volume work is useful to those studying the army or military history. Available through ABC Express; ASU has only volume 2.
Albion. Boone, N.C.: Appalachian State University, 1969-2004
Includes articles, book reviews, and historiographical essays. Formerly the publication of the North American Conference on British Studies (NACBS). Merged with The Journal of British Studies in 2005.
Includes articles, book reviews, and historiographical essays. Official publication of the North American Conference on British Studies (NACBS). In 2005 (Vol. 44), the journal merged with the NACBS publication Albion, creating one journal for NACBS membership.
Concerned with the long nineteenth century, its legacies, and echoes in the present day, the journal encourages articles which interrogate periodisation, historiography and critical traditions.
Victorian Literature and Culture. New York, NY : AMS Press, Inc., 1991-
Literary journal about Victorian literature and culture. Includes articles, works in progress, and book review essays. It is available through Cambridge Journals Online and JSTOR. Continues The Victorian Newsletter.
Victorian Periodicals Review. Toronto : Research Society for Victorian Periodicals, 1979-
Journal concentrating on the editorial and publishing history of Victorian periodicals. Official journal of the Research Society for Victorian Periodicals. Continues Victorian Periodicals Newsletter.
Victorian Studies. [Bloomington] Indiana University, 1957-
Journal devoted to the interdisciplinary study of British culture of the Victorian age. Official publication of the North American Victorian Studies Association (NAVSA).
