Google Scholar

You've likely used Google - many students use it as a starting point for research. Google Scholar is the academic version of Google. Here is link to the coverage of Google Scholar. Below are some links to tips and strategies on how to get the most out of Google Scholar. 

• Google Scholar Overview - Includes information on how best to narrow your search results.
• Google Scholar Searching - Includes search tips for navigating how most effectively to use Google Scholar.

Library Databases

In RC 2001, move beyond APPsearch and into our subject-specific databases. Databases are collections of research - the library provides access to many, some are multidisciplinary and some are specific to certain fields. And all are accessible 24/7 from off-campus as long as you know your App State username and password. Search interfaces may vary from database to database but they all have similar features that you can leverage to get exactly what you want. Where do you go from here?

Option 1: General research topic searching in subject-specific databases

1. Click here to access all of App State's online databases (link opens in new window). Note the different categories (Type, Name, and Subject).
2. Click the subject closest to your major to reveal a list of databases in that field.
3. Choose a database and start searching (don't forget to have a robust list of search terms to try). 

Some databases offer search result "filters" or "limiters." This includes filtering results by criteria like Academic Journals or Trade Publications.

Option 2: Find trade or scholarly journals in your field and search within them:

1. Use the handout (below) to navigate Google Scholar in order to find scholarly publications in your field.
2. Then, search the titles of those journals or articles in APPsearch. Here are directions on how to do that (link opens in new window).