LibGuides: Ethnomusicology Guide: Home

Basic Reference Tools

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Stanley Sadie (Editor); John Tyrrell (Editor)
ISBN: 1561592390
Publication Date: 2000
Available online
New Harvard Dictionary of Music by Don Michael Randal
ISBN: 0674372999
Publication Date: 2003
Available online

Handbooks and Guides to the Field

Shadows in the Field by Gregory F. Barz (Editor); Timothy J. Cooley (Editor)
Call Number: ML 3799 .S5 1997
ISBN: 0195109104
Publication Date: 1996-11-21
Ethnomusicology by Helen Myers (Editor); Stanley Sadie (Editor)
Call Number: ML 3798 .E84 1992b
ISBN: 0393033775
Publication Date: 1992-10-01
Garland Library of Readings in Ethnomusicology by Kaye Shelemay (Editor)
Call Number: ML 3799 .G37 1990
ISBN: 0824064690
Publication Date: 1990-09-01

Standard Texts on World Musics

Ethnomusicology by Helen Myers (Editor); Stanley Sadie (Editor)
Call Number: ML 3799 .E83 1993
ISBN: 0393033783
Publication Date: 1993-05-01

World Musics and Music Education

Lessons from the World by Patricia S. Campbell
Call Number: MT 1 .C22 1991
ISBN: 0028723619
Publication Date: 1991-05-01

Finding Information About Ethnomusicology

1. Search a topic. Either look for a country or culture in list of subdivisions, or use the name of the country to narrow the search by subject subdivision:

Music--Greece
Folk music--United States--Southern States

2. Search directly under the culture:

Indians of North America--Songs and music
Cheyenne Indians--Music

3. Search under a name of a musical instrument:

Ch'in music
Banjo music

4. Go to Music Library's World Music Guide

Finding Books

The catalog provides access to the library holdings of Appalachian State University (books, movies, music scores, music CDs, government documents, audiobooks, and more).

Advanced search

Journals, Videos, and Web Sites

E-JOURNALS

VIDEOS

A 30-volume collection entitled The JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance is available in the Music Library. To find call numbers, enter a TITLE search for "JVC" in the Library Catalog.

STREAMING AUDIO

Smithsonian Global Sound

WEB SITES

Wesleyan University (http://echarry.web.wesleyan.edu/ethno.html)

Online Research Tools

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online includes the most comprehensive scholarly encyclopedia of music in the English language. Coverage of music of all times and places.

With Grove Music Online as it's cornerstone, Oxford Music Online contains more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world on all aspects of music. Included are links to images, written music samples, digital sound, and related Web sites. Also included is access to the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music.

Coverage: Ancient times-present
Encyclopedia of Popular Music This link opens in a new window
Containing 27,000 entries and over 6,000 new entries, the online edition of the Encyclopedia of Popular Music includes 50% more material than the print Third Edition, and is part of Oxford Music Online.

Featuring a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. Coverage of trends, styles, record labels, venues, music festivals, and key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system.

Coverage: 1900-present
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
RILM includes all formats of scholarly works--articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, films and videos, and conference proceedings. Also provides concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals if they are of scholarly interest.

Music and various other fields as they relate to music including: anthropology, dance, ethnomusicology, historical musicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, literature, dramatic arts and visual arts, music therapy, philosophy and physics, and sociology. Includes citations on international music corresponding to the printed International Repertory of Music Literature.

Coverage: 1967-present
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Music Index covers more that 850 music periodicals from more that 40 countries.

"Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are thoroughly categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject List which includes both Subject and Geographic headings. Covering all styles and genres of music, The Music Index duly cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry."

Coverage: 1975-present
Classical Music Library (Music Online) This link opens in a new window
Classical Music Library is a fully searchable classical music resource—a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings. It includes tens of thousands of licensed recordings that users can listen to over the Internet.

Selections range from the earliest Gregorian chants to works by modern composers, including symphonic music, vocal and instrumental music, choral works, and other forms. Content is published under licensing agreements with more than 30 music labels, including major labels and independents, with ongoing license negotiations adding to the range of available tracks.

Coverage: Medieval to present
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogues of over 68,000 discs (nearly one million tracks), including notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists.

Listen online to Classical, Contemporary Jazz, World, Folk, Adult Contemporary, Chinese music, Pop and Rock.

Coverage: 1150-present
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, along with The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz and The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, provide unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music. These three publications (online known as Grove Music Online), along with subsequent updates, include more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world.

Oxford Music Online provides access to these resources and also provides links to images, written music samples, digital sound, and related Web sites.

Alternate Name: Oxford Music Online
Coverage: Ancient times to the present

Electronic Journals

Library Guides

Ethnomusicology Guide: Home

Subject Guide