Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIB 5195 Critical Issues in Youth Literature and Media: Articles

Search examples

Searching in APPsearch

APPsearch includes books, streaming media, and indexes over 50 databases.  The databases indexed cover a wide variety of disciplines and include articles (journals, magazines, newspapers), reports, documents, and more.

The below strategies can be used in APPsearch or any discipline-specific database.  Databases - browse by subject.


Basic Search

Background Information:

Search APPsearch, using a Basic Search, to find background information about your group in a book or an article.

  • Try combining your group's name with terms like:  experience, history, background
  • Use    "   "   around phrases.  "Chinese Americans"   "high school"   "higher education"  
  • Searching is iterative.  Try terms, read results, learn new terminology, tweak search, repeat.

Use the Limits to refine results to a specific time period, type of resource (books, magazines, journals) and more.
.

APPsearch using quotation marks

 

Representation in media:

You can start with a Basic Search to find material discussing the representation of your group in media.

  • Include the concepts/keywords in your search.  Not a sentence How are Chinese Americans depicted in the media.
  • Use Limits to refine the results to Peer-reviewed or scholarly materials.
     
  • Will all resources describing this topic use the exact words you are using?   No. 
  • Try an Advanced Search which allows you to use synonyms for your key concepts. This broadens your search.
     

APPsearch using quotation marks

 

Advanced Search

Search APPsearch, using an Advanced Search, to identify scholarly works. 

  • Each concept has a separate search field.
  • Use    or     to separate all synonyms. 
  • Use    "    "   around real phrases.  "community college"   "media center"   "public library"
  • Use       to allow for variable endings.  represent*  =   represent, represents, representing, representation

Use the Limit for Peer-reviewed to refine the results to only peer-reviewed/scholarly resources.  Remember the date Limit too.
 

APPsearch advanced search

 

Quotation marks and the word or used in advance search

 

Article Databases and More

Search your topics in the following databases to find scholarly journal articles. You may also consult Databases - browse by subject to determine which other databases are related to your research.  If you are connecting from off-campus, you will be prompted for your username & password or real name and Banner ID number before you may search the databases.

Requesting Articles

The article you need is not available electronically?

  • You may request it via ILLiad (our interlibrary loan system). 
  • We will find it, scan it, and make it available to you electronically.

Librarian Contact

Profile Photo
Lisa Abbott
Contact:
abbottLT@appstate.edu
828-262-2009