Research Guides: Library Science: Collection Development in Youth Literature

Collection Development and Management in Youth Literature

University Libraries holds several databases helpful in managing and developing a school library collection. In addition to the databases listed below, be sure to check out these additional links to diverse collections and lists that are accessible outside of the university.

Education Source
Provides full text access for more than 1,800 journals covering all levels of education, as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands more.
Provides full text access for more than 1,800 journals covering all levels of education, as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands more.
TeachingBooks.net
Contains instructional materials for K-12 fiction and nonfiction books.
Contains instructional materials for K-12 fiction and nonfiction books.
Books in Print
Bibliographic descriptions and availability information for more than 5 million books currently in print, declared out of print, or soon to be published titles.
Bibliographic descriptions and availability information for more than 5 million books currently in print, declared out of print, or soon to be published titles.
Children's Core Collection
Resource for children's librarians that covers fiction and nonfiction, story collections, picture books, graphic novels, and magazines recommended for readers in preschool through 6th grade.
Limited to 1 user at a time.
Middle and Junior High Core Collection
For libraries serving readers in grades 5-9. Provides indispensable help with collection development and maintenance, curriculum support, readers' advisory, and general reference.
Limited to 1 user at a time.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Academic and research resource for courses needing to locate children’s and young adult books and other media.
Academic and research resource for courses needing to locate children’s and young adult books and other media.

Youth Literature Reference Book Selection Tools

Best Books for Children Preschool through Grade 6
Best Books for Young Adult Readers Grades 7-12
Bilingual Children's Books in English & Spanish
Elementary School Library Collections
Literature Connections to World HIstory, K-6 & 7-12
Literature Connections to American History, K-6 & 7-12
Middle & Junior High School Library Catalog
Multicultural Picture Books
Neal Schuman Guide to Recommended Children's Books & Media for Use with Every Elementary Subject
Recommended Reference Books for Small & Medium-Sized Libraries & Media Centers
Senior High School Library Catalog

Library Science: Collection Development in Youth Literature

Education Librarian

Collection Development and Management in Youth Literature

Collection Development Databases

Youth Literature Reference Book Selection Tools

Education Librarian