Basics and Databases - BIO 3314 - Comparative Vertebrate Zoology - Research Guides at Appalachian State University

Where to begin? - Online Encyclopedias

Credo Reference
Provides access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations) from over 70 academic publishers.

Provides access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations) from over 70 academic publishers.

Know your assignment & what kind of resources you need (books, articles, web sites, etc.)

about your topic (write down as many key words as possible searching for information). Brainstorm first.

Try broader, narrower, variant spellings, or related terms:
- bird* / aves / avian
- fish* / salmo / trout
- conodont* / dentation / teeth

Biological Science Database (ProQuest)
Provides access to nearly 400 journals, with more than 325 available in full text.

Provides access to nearly 400 journals, with more than 325 available in full text.
ScienceDirect
Full text access to more than 1,200 journals from the Elsevier Science journal collection, and indexing for 1,300 more.

Full text access to more than 1,200 journals from the Elsevier Science journal collection, and indexing for 1,300 more.
Scopus
Replaces Web of Science. An abstract and citation database focused on social, physical, life, and health sciences, with over 94 million records.

Replaces Web of Science. An abstract and citation database focused on social, physical, life, and health sciences, with over 94 million records.
JSTOR
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.

Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
SpringerLink
Provides full text access to more than 1,500 peer reviewed journals in a wide variety of academic discplines.

Provides full text access to more than 1,500 peer reviewed journals in a wide variety of academic discplines.