Research Guides: Geography &amp; Planning: Finding Articles

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by scholars or experts on the topic
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contain citations (footnotes and/or bibliography) documenting sources

For more information, see the Popular and Scholarly Sources Tutorial.

Citing Your Sources

A citation is a record of where you encountered a certain idea. Citing your sources helps other scholars track down resources they find of interest. Proper citation helps us all build on our knowledge.

Recommended Databases for Geography and Planning

See All Article Databases and E-Research Tools

ScienceDirect
Full text access to more than 1,200 journals from the Elsevier Science journal collection, and indexing for 1,300 more.
Full text access to more than 1,200 journals from the Elsevier Science journal collection, and indexing for 1,300 more.
Environment Complete
Full text journal articles on agriculture, ecology, renewable energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, environmental technology, law, and policy, and more.
Full text journal articles on agriculture, ecology, renewable energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, environmental technology, law, and policy, and more.
GreenFILE
Scholarly and general interest journals, as well as government documents and reports covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
Scholarly and general interest journals, as well as government documents and reports covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
Wiley Online Library
Provides access to more than 1,000 full text journals primarily in the fields of science, technology, medicine, business, and law.
Provides access to more than 1,000 full text journals primarily in the fields of science, technology, medicine, business, and law.

Other Useful Databases for Geography and Planning

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
JSTOR
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
Project Muse
Provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more, in the humanities and social sciences.
Provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more, in the humanities and social sciences.
SpringerLink
Provides full text access to more than 1,500 peer reviewed journals in a wide variety of academic discplines.
Provides full text access to more than 1,500 peer reviewed journals in a wide variety of academic discplines.
GeoRef
Contains citations to over 22,000 titles from journal articles, books, theses, conference proceedings and reports in the geology and earth sciences.
Contains citations to over 22,000 titles from journal articles, books, theses, conference proceedings and reports in the geology and earth sciences.

Geography & Planning: Finding Articles

Librarian

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals

Citing Your Sources

Recommended Databases for Geography and Planning

Other Useful Databases for Geography and Planning

Google Scholar

Geographical News

Librarian