Research Guides: Biology: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the subject guide for Biology at Appalachian State University!

In this guide you will find:

Suggested Databases, Journals, and Monographs
Open Educational Resources in Biology
List of Professional Organizations
Article Finding Tips
Citation Help

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to over 1,100 scholarly journals, trade journals, and reports representing all major environmental science topics.
Biological Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to nearly 400 journals, with more than 325 available in full text.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations) from over 70 academic publishers.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use Google Scholar through the library to be automatically linked to the full text of articles we own.
Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Features over 1,600 journal titles, with more than 1,250 available in full text, covering both the applied and general sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Replaces Web of Science. An abstract and citation database focused on social, physical, life, and health sciences, with over 94 million records.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to more than 1,200 journals from the Elsevier Science journal collection, and indexing for 1,300 more.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 1,000 full text journals primarily in the fields of science, technology, medicine, business, and law.

Open Access Materials

arXiv.org
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 2,211,879 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
Biology: the eSkeletons Project
The eSkeletons Project is a website with digitized images and animations of human and primate skeletons for the study of comparative anatomy. Students can view regions of skeletons from any orientation as well as muscle and joint information. Browser plugins may be required for optimal viewing.
bioRxiv.org
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution.
Etch A Cell - Demolition Squad
Participate in active research! Through Zooniverse, examine images of cells and help identify lysosomes!
Merlot: Biology Resources
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
MIT OpenCourseware
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
NCBI Bookshelf
Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Search, read, and discover.
OER Commons
OER Commons offers a comprehensive infrastructure for curriculum experts and instructors at all levels to identify high-quality OER and collaborate around their adaptation, evaluation, and use to address the needs of teachers and learners.